Quantcast Honestech video capture not detected, recorded in LP? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
11-28-2015, 09:34 AM
naturally naturally is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi Guys,

Complete newbie to all of this and I'm having problems. yesterday i bought an honestech vidbox for mac. so that i can transfer old VHS-C tapes off a very old JVC GR M3E camcorder.
When i connected up my brand new box yesterday the only thing that "plays" is a completely blank green screen - and it records it too as if it believes thats whats on the camera.

i've messed around and recorded on the camera in LP and SP...if i record in SP it plays too fast and the capture device won't detect it. If i record in LP it picks it up fine! So i think it was all recorded in LP but the camera is playing it in SP..which is why the capture device won't pick it up.

Is there a work round to this? Or a device that would pick it up? glad i at least know why now..just need to find a solution

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Natalie
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
11-28-2015, 03:32 PM
dpalomaki dpalomaki is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 1,256
Thanked 274 Times in 238 Posts
Not sure I understand what you mean by "plays too fast." I presume it does not play direct to a TV set as well.

If it cannot play back a tape it has just recorded, the camcorder has serious problems, possibly reading/processing the control track, or the capstan/pressure roller system has problems.
The green screen could be the default output is it cannot read a valid signal.

A workaround would be to find a working VHS-C player (or S-VHS-C), or a cassette adapter to use in a good S-VHS/VHS player.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
11-28-2015, 06:38 PM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
VHS-C I know recorded here in PAL room only as SP or LP.
Even slower as "EP" I only know of VHS.

Look but whether a colleague has a Pana NV V8000 which can VHS-C also play in LP, without an adapter, so something more specific.

JVC GR M3E's a Pal model?
see image


Attached Images
File Type: png Movie GR-M3E.png (271.6 KB, 4 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
12-06-2015, 07:58 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,176
Thanked 1,991 Times in 1,717 Posts
Green screen is always a codec error on the system. Generally too many were installed, usually a codec pack is to blame.

Does audio play fine?

Also make sure all your wiring is correct.

Cameras make for horrible players. VHS-C tapes need a special metal adapter for best results, or outright clamshell transfer to VHS.

LP can also be a major issue for some cameras and VCRs.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why are my DVD drives not detected? bigk181 Computers 2 01-09-2013 05:19 PM
Recorded DVD to AVI & Back to DVD deter Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 5 08-23-2010 04:03 AM
Newbie help - take recorded videos and stills, put them together mags102 Project Planning, Workflows 4 08-11-2006 02:18 PM
How to salvage unfinalized JVC-recorded DVDs Tom_n_Jonna Capture, Record, Transfer 6 02-27-2006 06:43 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 AM