Quantcast VHS capture noise/interference? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
01-01-2016, 01:32 PM
brontozaur brontozaur is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 9
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Hi all,

I have finally got my setup together, trying to capture some old tapes (NV-FS200->Grass Valley NX Express (pci-e)) through Edius software. All is fine except that I get some background static noise in the capture window, even at the time the vhs playback is stopped, so this is definitely not tape related.. I suppose there has to be a flawless black screen in capture mode when the playback is off, and mine is black but with random dance of grey/dark grey pixels. The capture screen goes to flawless black when I switch off the VCR. Interference is not too visible when I start playback, but still discernible, without it the video would definitely be cleaner. I use what looks to be quality monoprice s-video cable leading from VHS to NX, albeit without ferrite chokes. Tried another PSU - still the same. Added a hi-end graphics card instead of integrated video - same thing. Has anyone dealt with this problem?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
01-01-2016, 02:10 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,762
Thanked 2,149 Times in 1,849 Posts
Does that Grass Valley card (1) capture the audio, or (2) simply pass it to an internal audio card?
If the latter (2), it's typical distortion from a cheap card.
If the former (1), then it may be the VCR. Test it with another.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
01-01-2016, 02:28 PM
brontozaur brontozaur is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 9
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
Does that Grass Valley card (1) capture the audio, or (2) simply pass it to an internal audio card?
If the latter (2), it's typical distortion from a cheap card.
If the former (1), then it may be the VCR. Test it with another.
Yes it captures audio by itself, has its own A/D converters. And the audio is clean.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
01-01-2016, 02:33 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,762
Thanked 2,149 Times in 1,849 Posts
I think I misunderstand what you meant by "noise". I need to see/hear a sample.
Attach a small clip to the post.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #5  
01-01-2016, 02:52 PM
brontozaur brontozaur is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 9
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Edius wouldn't capture with the VCR playback stopped, and virtualdub doesn't work with this board.. So have no idea how to capture that noise. But if it is there on a black screen, that same noise definitely goes into the picture, it is just not that visible on playback.
I've just checked the same VCR on a LCD TV. TV gives solid black when there's no playback, but I think it's because it switches off when there's no signal detected. What I noticed is how shitty the S-VIDEO connectors really are - both in VCR, in TBC, and in the effing TV - I can literally adjust the picture quality by touching the cable! I think this is a very poor design. Still can't get rid of the interference on capture screen on the PC no matter how I twist it.
I guess I'll have to work by elimination - buy more cables, ferrite beads etc.

ok here's a few secs of the captured playback. I think the slight blinking is due to interference. On dark tapes I get bluish artifacts that are more visible.


Attached Files
File Type: m2v Cap0101_005.m2v (6.03 MB, 18 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
01-01-2016, 05:48 PM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
Hello
Direct capture in mpeg2 .... I never do.

Although I can not speak English, but worked for a long time with the Canopus NX.
I capture in YUY2.

Finishing with Avisynth and VirtualDub and Procoder

1.PC NX card [Pci-E]= Win 7 32 bit Edius 6:08
2.PC NX card [Pci-E]= Win 7 32 bit Edius 7:51
3.PC only the Canopus HD Storm Bay and

2 NX with PCI cards in reserve
Here are some pictures [settings Pal]


Attached Files
File Type: zip Canopus_NX.zip (1.00 MB, 4 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
01-02-2016, 02:59 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,762
Thanked 2,149 Times in 1,849 Posts
I don't see any interference. All I see is chroma noise. How did you conclude that it had interference?

Note that I've seen odd behavior from new versions of VLC recently. The first few frames are garbled. I'm liking VLC less and less as time goes on, and have mostly moved to MPC.

When analyzing video, always do so in an editor. VirtualDub is suggested most, more than NLEs.

Honestly, your capture card sounds like the wrong tool for the task. Canopus makes NLE cards, ignoring the ADVC DV boxes. You probably need a card that works with VirtualDub, if capturing was the only thing it'd be used for (ie, no NLE effects).

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI Radeon 9600XT - video capture distorted, interference? Towncivilian Capture, Record, Transfer 11 06-22-2015 12:22 PM
Is this electrical interference? (ATI AIW 9700 Pro video capture) trapper70 Capture, Record, Transfer 4 05-14-2013 06:13 AM
How do I remove this noise from my capture? CyborgHyena Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 4 02-07-2013 06:05 AM
Hi8 Capture - Noise/Interference at bottom of frame mbaya Capture, Record, Transfer 6 09-17-2012 06:54 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 AM