Quantcast ATI TV Wonder USB600 max file size? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
04-04-2016, 03:40 PM
Mejnour Mejnour is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 275
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Hello,

Simple question. My Windows XP is installed on a NTFC drive.

Is that normal that it created 2 files for tape that run longer than 1 hour?

Yes I have the 4 103 430 bytes annoying limitation.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
04-04-2016, 03:51 PM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 3,648
Thanked 1,271 Times in 975 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mejnour View Post
Simple question. My Windows XP is installed on a NTFC drive.
NTFC? A typo, maybe? I think you mean NTFS. Happens to the best of us.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mejnour View Post
Is that normal that it created 2 files for tape that run longer than 1 hour?
In VirtualDub capture's top menu bar, left-click on the "Capture " Item. In the drop down menu that appears, check that "Enable multisegment capture" is not checked ON.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mejnour View Post
Yes I have the 4 103 430 bytes annoying limitation.
NTFS doesn't have a 4GB limit.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank sanlyn for this useful post: lordsmurf (04-06-2016)
  #3  
04-04-2016, 04:25 PM
Mejnour Mejnour is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 275
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanlyn View Post
NTFC? A typo, maybe? I think you mean NTFS. Happens to the best of us.

In VirtualDub capture's top menu bar, left-click on the "Capture " Item. In the drop down menu that appears, check that "Enable multisegment capture" is not checked ON.

NTFS doesn't have a 4GB limit.
Sorry forgot to say that I am capturing mpeg with caralyst included software
Reply With Quote
  #4  
04-04-2016, 04:29 PM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 3,648
Thanked 1,271 Times in 975 Posts
That's a shame, MPEG is lossy encoding. Can't help you there, I never capture analog source to lossy media. In any case there shouldn't be a file size limit unless the ATI 600/MCE has a setting I never saw before. For a single DVD disc, the storage limit is 4.3GB.

I just looked it up in a 600 USB review. For MPEG the 600's maximum file limit is 4.3GB

You can always edit and combine segments later. Unfortunately, MPEG isn't deigned as an editing format. You'll need a smart-rendering editor to cut away unwanted material without damage.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank sanlyn for this useful post: lordsmurf (04-06-2016)
  #5  
04-06-2016, 07:51 AM
Mejnour Mejnour is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 275
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanlyn View Post
I just looked it up in a 600 USB review. For MPEG the 600's maximum file limit is 4.3GB

You can always edit and combine segments later. Unfortunately, MPEG isn't deigned as an editing format. You'll need a smart-rendering editor to cut away unwanted material without damage.
Oh thank for the confirmation. Usually I use huffyuv codec, but this time I though that I could save some time to capture in MPEG for some less important tapes...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
04-06-2016, 09:23 AM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 3,648
Thanked 1,271 Times in 975 Posts
I've done that myself several times, but not with MCE. Years back when I had analog cable I must have recorded dozens of TV shows with the MCE in an All In Wonder AGP, and used a DVD recorder with the LSI chip for several retail tapes (with a tbc for Macrovision, of course). MCE isn't bad these days, unless you want to do some restoration and so forth. There are smart rendering MPEG editors if you want to join or cut scenes.

With my AGP cards and MCE I don't recall hitting the 4.3GB mark. I adjusted bitrate for 90 minutes, or about 6000 kbps VBR, so 1 hour or 90 minute shows would be less than 4.3GB. If you have a long movie that goes over the limit you can keep a high bitrate if you author/burn to double-layer DVD. Verbatim DVD+R/DL AZO is the best and safest DL media for that. Most retail DVD's are double-layer anyway.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank sanlyn for this useful post: lordsmurf (04-06-2016)
  #7  
04-25-2016, 12:46 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,907
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
I capture MPEG all the time -- mostly 15mbps high bitrate these days. Looks fine. I used to capture straight to DVD, and that's a reason that ATI AIW, ATI 600, and certain DVD recorders are desired. Quality lasts, AVI not always necessary.

The ATI CMC config probably has a size limit. ATI MMC did. You can set it by time or size. Just change it. I know that "Windows limit" essentially disabled it in ATI MMC software. So if FAT32, it cut at 4gb. If NTFS ... well, you'll never get there.

My ATI 600 is currently uninstalled, can't check it.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtualdub saves AVI file size too large? Motleymongoose General Discussion 4 01-15-2016 03:02 AM
PAL to NTSC conversion reduces the file size? ohsnapimaninja Encode, Convert for discs 1 07-27-2014 07:36 AM
Lowering the size of a video file Superstar Edit Video, Audio 52 10-03-2013 10:11 PM
DVD Workshop 2 on Win 7 end file size; and Win 8? rbatty Author, Make Menus, Slideshows, Burn 1 01-31-2013 12:13 AM
Adobe Media Encoder is giving larger than expected file size james_austin Encode, Convert for discs 5 11-03-2011 07:42 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44 AM