Quantcast Elgato Video Capture dropping frames? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
05-05-2016, 06:37 PM
mariolover mariolover is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 24
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I am using Elgato Video Capture to capture VHS tapes to my computer and I get dropped frames and the audio and video start to skip. My capture software worked fine at first but now it drops frames. Here are my specs:

Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) 2 Duo CPU E8400 @ 3.00 GHz 3.00 GHz

Installed Memory (RAM): 4.00 GB

System Type: 64-Bit Operating System

Pen and Touch: No Pen and Touch input is available for this display.

My computer is brand new (I got it on April 31), and I don't even have a lot of stuff downloaded onto my computer. I don't have a lot of processes running when I capture either. I've tried disconnecting myself from the internet, shutting off my antivirus, and defragging with no luck. Some of my VHS tapes that I capture with are fairly new and are pretty good but I still get dropped frames even with newer, good quality VHS tapes. I capture my video to my C: drive, which has 910 of 931 GB of storage space available. My VCR model is a Toshiba DVR620KU VCR/DVD recorder. Any suggestions on how to fix these dropped frames?

lordsmurf, do you have any thoughts regarding my question?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
05-06-2016, 03:40 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,694
Thanked 2,138 Times in 1,839 Posts
It's probably a typical lack-of-TBC issue. Do you have an external TBC?

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
05-06-2016, 03:56 PM
mariolover mariolover is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 24
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
No I don't, but one of my vcrs has an internal TBC and I tried using that VCR and it didn't help. That VCR is a Mitsubishi one.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
05-06-2016, 03:58 PM
mariolover mariolover is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 24
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Do external TBCs work better than internal ones?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
05-06-2016, 03:58 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,694
Thanked 2,138 Times in 1,839 Posts
Internal TBC is only there to clean the image, not the signal. The signal causes dropped frames.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #6  
05-06-2016, 03:59 PM
mariolover mariolover is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 24
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
What would be the best, least expensive external TBC that I could use? I don't want to waste my money.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
05-07-2016, 06:04 PM
mariolover mariolover is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 24
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
lordsmurf, I found the AV-Toolbox AVT-8710 for a affordable price on amazon, and I can't afford the Datavideo TBC-1000. Would the AV-Toolbox one be okay?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
05-10-2016, 03:04 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,323
Thanked 328 Times in 273 Posts
Try this: stick a DVDRW into the DVD side of your DVR620 combo, start the Dub mode, then start the capture. This should enable the recorder's line TBC and frame sync output. It may cause flickering though, because of an issue with Funai's AGC.

Brief explanation: Newbie needs advice on digital video workflow, tape cleanup!

Screenshot comparison attached. It looks like mud because of being captured to MPEG-2 with poor settings, but hopefully the line-straightening is obvious.


Reply With Quote
  #9  
05-12-2016, 07:23 PM
mariolover mariolover is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 24
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I tried using the DVD recorder to record one of my TV-recorded VHS tapes and I still get some audio skipping even with the DVD recorder. Anybody have any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
05-12-2016, 08:16 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,323
Thanked 328 Times in 273 Posts
A sample would help, so that we know what you mean by "skipping". Connect the HDMI output to a TV at the same time as you do the capture, to confirm that it isn't "skipping" there too. Maybe the VCR section simply isn't tracking the tape properly.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
05-13-2016, 02:04 PM
mariolover mariolover is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 24
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Apparently it's the fault of the video player, when I uploaded it to youtube it didn't skip at all. There is a line on the bottom of the screen though
Reply With Quote
  #12  
05-14-2016, 05:00 PM
wolf_in_bull_city wolf_in_bull_city is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I just purchased the Elgato capture device. I am capturing from a Sony DCR-TRV740. I'd previously been capturing over Firewire, but the port on the camera has gone bad. So now the first two 8mm tapes I've captured with the Elgato had randomly left out huge chunks of the tape. In both cases, a subsequent capture attempt seems to have worked as expected.

Do you all think this is due to a lack of external TBC? I never had any issues of this nature when I was able to capture over firewire. I am still reading through the threads on here for helpful info, but I may end up making a new thread to get help figuring out what kind of capturing setup I'll need. Thanks in advance. Great info on here.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canopus ADVC-110 vs. Elgato Video Capture Rafa_Chaves Capture, Record, Transfer 12 06-13-2015 07:30 PM
BVP4+ jitter or dropping frames? Father-of-Ash Capture, Record, Transfer 8 03-26-2014 11:19 PM
Problem with MPEG video dropping frames kabal2000 Capture, Record, Transfer 9 08-02-2010 12:39 AM
Dropping frames - IRQ conflict or VCR? lookouts Capture, Record, Transfer 3 07-06-2006 06:15 PM
ATI All in Wonder dropping frames allaboutduncan Capture, Record, Transfer 5 06-13-2005 03:10 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 PM