Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
09-08-2016, 03:37 PM
Premium Member

Thanked 1,308 Times in 982 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rf99 View Post
I am just getting started on learning cleanup techniques, and I didn't even notice some of these bleeds. But, now I do, and I'm sure they will be very noticeable to me going forward. I think you just cursed me. Hah!
Don't fret over that. It comes with time. A workable capture is always the first step.

Quote:
as scenes and lighting change on a tape, do you find yourself applying certain scripts to certain scenes, and other scripts to others? Obviously if it's the same camera, I'd assume a lot of the same fixes would be constant. But, I can imagine that you might find yourself having to apply different fixes as the content and lighting change as well?
I've done it many, many times. That's the main reason I stick with Avisynth, VirtualDub, and sometimes AfterEffects. Many of their tools are are incredibly sophisticated. I've had to do that with retail tapes, too.

Quote:
I'm curious what you think about the H.264 M2T from PE, though. PE allows a high bit-rate, and it seems to look good on my Oppo.
The m2t's look fine to me. You don't always have to use very high bitrates. I have plenty of encodes on disc that didn't need so much bitrate, although for archives I go that way instead of taking up room for lossless caps. I have 4 USB drives with old lossless caps. Probably won't go back to them, but you never know. They're the remains of hundreds of hours of very old VHS tapes from 1990 on.

Quote:
Were there any additional steps used (or subtracted or modified) on this vs. the script you posted for the first capture?
I used the same script but cut the strength of some filters because the Fashion tape was cleaner. People tend to build a store of frequently used filters.

Quote: