06-13-2016, 12:19 PM
Premium Member

I have been closely following the "Please review my video capture!" thread. Sadly, according to the high-end users (with respect, no sarcasm intended), it looks like I have been getting sub-par results with my ADVC 300.

I am looking to convert VHS and Beta tapes to DVD. I have a fast computer (i7-6700 Skylake CPU, 16 GB RAM, 4 GB EVGA nVidia chip video). I also have Adobe Premiere for editing.

Questions: 1. Is the ATI 600 USB that much better than the ADVC 300? 2. In what file format does the ATI 600 USB produce the captures? 3. Will I be able to use Premiere to edit and correct video?

I apologize if this has been covered. I did search and did not see these particular questions addressed.

Thanks, in advance, to all who respond.
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

06-22-2016, 07:12 PM
Free Member

Well, I am no expert on either device. I recently started capturing all of my vhs tapes again. I went strictly by the information on these forums. I used the ATI 600 usb and had great results. Of course I got one of the recommended vcrs and an external tbc. As far as the format goes, you can use virtual dub and capture in any format you want I suppose. However most recommend a near lossless format. I would also guess premiere can load most formats. Not sure what kind of results you were getting before.
The following users thank n1000 for this useful post: JoRodd (06-22-2016)
06-22-2016, 09:01 PM
Premium Member

Thanked 1,307 Times in 982 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoRodd View Post
I am looking to convert VHS and Beta tapes to DVD. I have a fast computer (i7-6700 Skylake CPU, 16 GB RAM, 4 GB EVGA nVidia chip video). I also have Adobe Premiere for editing.

Questions: 1. Is the ATI 600 USB that much better than the ADVC 300?
Yes.

Quote:
2. In what file format does the ATI 600 USB produce the captures?