Quantcast Windows XP can no longer be activated: workaround! - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
03-18-2017, 02:56 PM
holocron holocron is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 25
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Microsoft has taken down their activation servers for WinXP. This is bad news, because without activating, an XP install becomes unusable after 30 days. I hear a lot of people rely on this OS for making reliable analog capture machines (this includes my new build, which is how I just discovered this is a problem). What this would mean is we could only use an install for 30 days, and then get locked out and be forced to create a total reinstall. However, there is a workaround.

If the 30 day period is near or has expired: Start the PC in Safe mode by pressing F8 at bootup and selecting safe mode from the prompt that appears.

Once Windows has started in safe mode, click --> start --> Run.

In the "run" window, type: Rundll32.exe syssetup,SetupOobeBnk and click OK. Wait a minute, and then restart the PC.

This resets the activation period to 30 days. Not a flawless solution because you'll still get the activation pop-up, but the device will be usable, which is more than sufficient if capturing video is all you use the computer for.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank holocron for this useful post: sanlyn (03-18-2017)
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
03-20-2017, 02:23 PM
rocko's Avatar
rocko rocko is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 458
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
My XP Cap PC has never been connected to a modem/Internet, (as recommended in the earlier guides on this site). Would your thread title only apply to those that are connected? Not sure how those XP PC's that aren't connected, could ever get the message to stop activating in the future. (My system was built and installed about 2010, no updates or Internet since then)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
03-20-2017, 02:27 PM
rocko's Avatar
rocko rocko is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 458
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Just re-read your post, looks like this probably only affects more recent installs of Win XP?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
03-20-2017, 11:32 PM
holocron holocron is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 25
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Correct. If you activated XP before the servers shutdown, you're fine. Only reinstalls are an issue, mostly. But sometimes swapping out hardware can make Windows think it's a fresh install and it'll start whining about activation again.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
03-20-2017, 11:52 PM
rocko's Avatar
rocko rocko is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 458
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Thanks holocron, which hardware? Eventually some piece of hardware WILL DIE , But a good backup strategy might help. BUT even that backup is only good with current, existing hardware.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
03-21-2017, 10:45 AM
bever bever is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Pac Northwest
Posts: 92
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
My XP instance whines for activation. If you search for it on the web you will see a you tube post showing what to do in the registry to stop that. A side note after slipstreaming sp2 into one of my xp instance it is so jacked up it doesnt even need a product key but still activation
Edit
I also do not use xp for the internet it make for lousy web surfing computers in my opinion

Last edited by bever; 03-21-2017 at 10:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
03-21-2017, 02:12 PM
holocron holocron is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 25
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockovids View Post
Thanks holocron, which hardware? Eventually some piece of hardware WILL DIE , But a good backup strategy might help. BUT even that backup is only good with current, existing hardware.
'Officially' it's the motherboard, but I've also seen it happen with the CPU.

There was also an incident where everything was just wonky and before replacing any parts, I just dismantled everything for a thorough cleaning and then reassembled it exactly as it was before. The system worked fine again, but somehow Windows got the idea that I had moved the hard-drive into a different computer, and started whining for reactivation.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JVC DM-R10 no longer read DVDs - fix? ieee488 Video Hardware Repair 2 06-07-2013 06:23 PM
Windows XP and Windows 7 dual-boot issue: they won't work? colintyvu Computers 1 01-09-2013 06:48 AM
WordPress editor gone after jQuery Colorbox plugin activated? kpmedia Website and Server Troubleshooting 1 09-27-2012 04:36 AM
ATI All In Wonder drivers for Windows Vista or Windows 7 ? Mejnour Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 12 02-01-2012 05:27 AM
Most minutes on a DVD? Hard drives last longer than discs? kpmedia Tech Myths, Misinformation 2 12-23-2010 03:47 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 AM