Quantcast Sharpening Settings vs. Number of Devices in Capture Chain - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
04-17-2017, 07:06 PM
premiumcapture premiumcapture is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 585
Thanked 70 Times in 64 Posts
In general, should sharpening be increased to compensate of the softness added by a TBC or other piece of equipment added to a capture chain or should default settings be left as-is?

Using AG1980s with sharpening set to the middle.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
04-18-2017, 12:53 AM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 3,648
Thanked 1,264 Times in 971 Posts
Sharpeners are best applied during post-processing. Oversharpening artifacts caused by the initial sharpener won't be undone by softening or blurring of a later component. Adjust your component settings to fit the specific situation and signal source. There is no one-setting-fits-all solution for every capture situation.

The AG-1980 middle-click sharpen position doesn't add extra sharpening on its own. It is a neutral setting.

Sharpening during capture will sharpen noise. Is well sharpened, overly visible, and more obvious noise the effect you want during capture?
Reply With Quote
The following users thank sanlyn for this useful post: premiumcapture (04-18-2017)
  #3  
04-18-2017, 07:57 AM
premiumcapture premiumcapture is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 585
Thanked 70 Times in 64 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanlyn View Post
There is no one-setting-fits-all solution for every capture situation.

Sharpening during capture will sharpen noise. Is well sharpened, overly visible, and more obvious noise the effect you want during capture?
I certainly don't want noise sharpened, but this gives me the impression that hardware sharpening is almost always bad, which I can understand.

What would be a case, if any, where you would increase sharpening at the VCR level?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
04-18-2017, 08:57 AM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 3,648
Thanked 1,264 Times in 971 Posts
I guess such a case would be possible, but I can't think of one where I would use sharpening during capture. You can't do it without sharpening undesirable factors. If anything I once had to slightly reduce the VCR's sharpening for a tape that was mastered with oversharpening effects to begin with (apparently some very primitive early "digital enhancements" by the production lab. Phooey, it looked terrible). But frankly I found that recapturing without that reduction allowed me to resolve the problems later with Avisynth filters.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What type of sharpening is this? (DVD recorder) premiumcapture Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 5 07-04-2014 12:19 AM
VHS Huffyuv VirtualDub filter chain settings suggestions? Zoink187 Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 2 03-06-2014 10:22 AM
Best Capture Devices for VHS to DVD Zoink187 Capture, Record, Transfer 5 02-17-2014 07:48 AM
EasyCap vs ATI 600 for USB capture devices? sChen77 Capture, Record, Transfer 8 07-19-2012 02:42 AM
Mac video capture devices? lordsmurf Capture, Record, Transfer 0 05-09-2009 11:20 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 AM