Quantcast Converting Protected VHS tapes to DVD - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
05-02-2006, 03:15 PM
Daniel Daniel is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Long Beach, CA, USA.
Posts: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I am trying to convert some old VHS tapes. They are from the 30's, and I am surprised that they have copyright protection. My DVD recorder says that "this material is copyright protected" and won't let me convert it. How would you fix this? I am using a Toshiba VCR and Panasonic DVD recorder.

If I cannot resolve this issue, I would gladly pay for the service of transferring the tapes to DVDs. I have four different movies to transer.

Your anticipated help is much appreciated,
Daniel (Trading Veteran)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
05-02-2006, 03:23 PM
markatisu markatisu is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 202
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I have emailed you, it might just be the age of the tapes and the signal coming across as what the DVD recorder interprets as copy protection (iffy signal, tape errors, etc)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
05-03-2006, 05:43 PM
cp32 cp32 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 255
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Btw Daniel this is what you need to remove copyguard from vhs.

Its on sale 18.95

http://www.mcminone.com/product.asp?...5Fid=80%2D4280
Reply With Quote
  #4  
05-04-2006, 03:20 AM
stoogedog stoogedog is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 94
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hi cp32, will this also work between dvd players and recorders? just wondered. thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
05-04-2006, 10:53 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,753
Thanked 2,147 Times in 1,848 Posts
I have one of those, if somebody wants it for $15. But be aware I could never get it to do very much. It's a far cry from a TBC.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #6  
05-04-2006, 11:10 AM
cp32 cp32 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 255
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
It works with most stand alone DVDrecorders.

Works with Panasonic , Rca , liteon , Zenith. I couldnt say for sure about any other model.

LS, you can adjust the setting inside with a flat head screw driver. Turn it to 1 O' clock position.


Thats the best setting for Disney Tapes etc Also work with DVDs Good results too

No not pro gear. It will do the job without having to spend 60 & up for TBC.
Poor mans method lmao !

I used it on a rental of Videos in Raw . Which you liked .
Reply With Quote
  #7  
05-04-2006, 11:32 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,753
Thanked 2,147 Times in 1,848 Posts
Alright, well, I have it for $15 (plus whatever shipping or fees).
I own two full TBCs, so I don't need this thing.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #8  
05-04-2006, 04:24 PM
stoogedog stoogedog is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 94
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hi LS, sent you an email. lmk. thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
05-05-2006, 03:06 AM
jenstewart jenstewart is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Devils Lake, ND, .
Posts: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Years ago, another person recommended that nifty little box to me. Ebay has lots of them. Here's one:

http://cgi.ebay.com/DIGITAL-VIDEO-ST...QQcmdZViewItem

Works great! It only needs a new 9 volt battery once every six months or so.

The only tapes that I haven't been able to copy were ones that I've gotten from "Starz" channel, which I assume is because of the strong macrovisioning in them.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
05-05-2006, 08:51 AM
cp32 cp32 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 255
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Yip, thats what this is & ls has
http://www.mcminone.com/product.asp?...5Fid=80%2D4280

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Reply With Quote
  #11  
05-17-2006, 03:30 PM
Neuroslicer Neuroslicer is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , , .
Posts: 23
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I got one of those $20 specials for the sole purpose of converting a VHS copy of "Man from the 25th Century" to DVD. My JVC DVDR refused to copy it due to copyrigted material. That little box did nothing but lighten my wallet. Be warned, success is not guaranteed!
Neuro
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D9Dnv...intball%20wars
Reply With Quote
  #12  
05-17-2006, 04:11 PM
cp32 cp32 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 255
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
jAY, it dont work with all recorders.. but it does with most.

Grab yourself a TBC or detailer.
I think that's what LS & mark use for their tapes :0
Reply With Quote
  #13  
05-18-2006, 02:22 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,753
Thanked 2,147 Times in 1,848 Posts
When you only have a few tapes, consider paying somebody to do it for you, cheaper than a TBC.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #14  
05-22-2006, 03:03 AM
wayshway wayshway is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 100
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to wayshway
Quote:
quote:Originally posted by lordsmurf

When you only have a few tapes, consider paying somebody to do it for you, cheaper than a TBC.
I agree You got that right.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
06-21-2006, 07:04 PM
MagnificentMarcus MagnificentMarcus is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , Washington, USA.
Posts: 283
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
What is a TBC? I have a bunch of tapes I need to convert.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
06-21-2006, 11:36 PM
padre2 padre2 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 102
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Time Base Corrector. Here's a decent article on their use.

http://www.questronix.com.au/info/info_tbc.htm

(the other one I posted was waaaay too old)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
06-22-2006, 12:47 AM
manthing manthing is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 329
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
http://www.datavideo.us/products/tbc_3000_main_page.htm

i got one of those. adding to the full frame TBC, it has contrast & colour gain.

HOWEVER, there was still 1 old commercial vhs that it only partially helped. for this particular tape, due to heavy macrovision, the TBC could only manage blacked out top half, meaning the image starts halfway down the screen, and also not that stable!

if i get a chance, i'll post an image.

so be warned that if you go down the TBC route, there is NO GUARANTEE that it will defeat the macrovision and give you rock solid images/feeds.

but i suppose for $20, you simply can't go wrong?....
Reply With Quote
  #18  
06-22-2006, 02:28 AM
MagnificentMarcus MagnificentMarcus is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , Washington, USA.
Posts: 283
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
What about going the cmacorder route and just uploading it in to your computer?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
06-22-2006, 02:37 AM
manthing manthing is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 329
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
nope. won't do. unless said camcorder has a built in full frame TBC which i doubt.

unless your source is perfect, ie no scratches, warped tape due to wear & tear, taped on excellent quality svhs recorder, and doesn't have macrovision protection, then maybe.

at best you'll get enough of the video through to the computer with just a few dropped frames.

at worst, well you'll drop so many frames and the rest will roll, be off colour, audio & video out of synch etc, that it will become unbearable to watch.

all depends on what you have to begin with and what you're willing to put up with.

one last thing, even after spending a decent amount of money, it still may look like a pile of crap. if the source isn't good, fergit it!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
06-22-2006, 08:10 AM
cp32 cp32 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 255
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Stubborn men Get the Video stablizer RX II works great for me been using those for years.
It defeats all macrovision on VHS including Disney. Just go Vhs to Vhs then convert to dvd.
If it dont work with your dvdrecorder. That's what I do. 100 percent successful everytime
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting PAL DVD to NTSC: cheap software vs hardware ? Dewey Encode, Convert for discs 5 03-02-2009 01:16 AM
How to convert MV4 to MP4 video files ? gatch72 Encode, Convert for streaming 1 02-20-2009 02:39 PM
Need to record Copy Protected from Sat/cable. Konfusion Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 18 03-17-2008 03:23 PM
Copy-protected VHS question heehawnut Capture, Record, Transfer 8 07-23-2007 05:14 AM
Need some help converting a few tapes... weevil6772 Capture, Record, Transfer 4 07-12-2006 11:07 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 AM