06-20-2017, 02:51 AM
Premium Member

I've come across a few, and there's not the easy-to-locate wealth of information about capturing Betacam that there is about capturing VHS. So...where do I start?

The one thing I did turn up on Google was that it should be captured via component, not S-Video, which rules out my USB-Live2 capture device. Then from having mentioned this in another thread, something about balanced and unbalanced audio...
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

06-20-2017, 03:02 AM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,448 Times in 2,080 Posts
I have some experience with capturing U-matic, D1, BetacamSP, add Digital Betacam (aka DigiBeta). Those are broadcast formats, and unlike VHS/etc in almost every way. The workflows are different.

Most of the VTRs have BNC correction for s-video or component.

Your capture card setups are going to be different: Aja, Backmagic (blah), Matrox, etc.

The decks alone are about $30k each. It's been 5+ years since I last looked at anything like this, but I'm guessing it probably has no changed much. If anything, some of the hardware has probably gotten more expensive, as we've seen with other analog workflow hardware.

It's not easy to find this info online because the people who needed info knew it. It was B2B. Broadcast Engineering (magazine) had lots on it, and then you'll sometimes see it discussed on older threads at the Creative Cow forum.

This is a different beast. It can be daunting.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
06-20-2017, 03:35 AM
Premium Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
The decks alone are about $30k each.
eBay seems to turn up quite a few for mere hundreds?
06-20-2017, 06:38 AM
Free Member

You should contact DigitalFreakNYC, since he was once in the same boat as you.

http://originaltrilogy.com/topic/How...tapes/id/15141
https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/...ing-Betacam-SP