Quantcast Unattended VirtualDub captures? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
07-11-2017, 07:24 AM
via Email or PM via Email or PM is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 167
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Can I start the capture and then just walk away or go to the shops etc. What I am worried about is once the VHS has stopped playing that Virtualdub will keep 'recording' and the capture will fail due to there not being enough space. Or does Virtualdub stopped capturing once the VHS tape stops playing?

Oh and can I (should I) capture first and THEN use Virtualdub to filter the avi file or filter during the capture?


This question was asked in a private message. Rather than hide our tech advice in private conversations, Site Staff will often answer PMs (from any site) here in the digitalFAQ.com forum, so that others may read and benefit from our expertise. Please continue the conversation here. Either login or join as a Free Member, and we can continue troubleshooting your video, photo or web related issue. Thanks for understanding our tech Q&A policies.

Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
07-12-2017, 07:19 AM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 3,471
Thanked 1,079 Times in 898 Posts
Note: This was submitted via PM. It's the sort of procedural question that should be posted publicly so that other members can share the answer.

You can walk away, but I usually don't. I work on another PC nearby or on a laptop, keeping an eye on the capture.

VirtualDub will continue to capture until you run out of space. Meanwhile a lot of things could happen. You could have a power outage (in my geographic area, that's always a possibility).

Or the tape could break (Ouch! And VirtualDub will just keep going).

Or something else unexpected. You never know.

The only filters that should be applied during capture are your proc amp level, brightness, etc. Never apply other filters during capture.

Another tip: When people first start capturing a bunch of tapes the temptation is to overdo it and rush the project. For example, capturing a full 6-hour tape is one path to a nervous breakdown, along with capturing a bunch of tapes wholesale and trying to fix them all at once. When you're first starting, do one thing at a time until you get a handle on what's happening. It won't take a long time.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank sanlyn for this useful post: lordsmurf (07-12-2017)
  #3  
07-12-2017, 07:36 AM
Padawan Padawan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 42
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Hi Sanlyn,

In my case I have to have the computers in different rooms.

And while I will be walking back and forth checking every half hour I might miss when the tape stops.

Can I just set a time limit in Virtualdub for capture e.g. 3 hours 10 minutes for a 3 hour tape.

That way if I accidentally fall asleep - common at my age :-) then the recording will at least stop.

Regards,

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #4  
07-12-2017, 07:57 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,516
Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,227 Posts
Set to capture and leave room, yes. Check back at least once every 10-15 minutes.
Set to capture and leave house? No!

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
08-06-2017, 11:28 AM
justinploof justinploof is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You could use a screen sharing tool like Teamviewer to monitor your capturing computer from another.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VirtualDub level and histogram settings on captures? greeneagle Capture, Record, Transfer 2 07-13-2016 10:43 AM
First time user: VirtualDub for PAL captures? trainee123 Capture, Record, Transfer 1 11-01-2012 10:22 PM
ATI MMC and VirtualDub captures, but audio lags behind video kpmedia Capture, Record, Transfer 0 06-15-2011 06:51 PM
AIW Captures - error playing in Virtualdub Eagleaye Capture, Record, Transfer 1 12-22-2010 12:34 PM
Using VirtualDub for screen captures (for menus) lordsmurf Author, Make Menus, Slideshows, Burn 1 12-10-2007 03:39 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 PM