Quantcast Panasonic DMR ES10 passthrough setup? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
08-04-2017, 01:02 PM
qiko qiko is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
So I recently pulled out my ES10 and will be starting to digitize some VHS tapes.

I am trying to remember how to setup the passthrough for this model. I recall to connect to Line IN1 but should it be composite only? or S-Video? Should the Output be S-Video Only? Finally, disable DNR for ES10?

My current flow is a JVC SVHS player > ES10 > ATI600USB > Windows 10

I have an old vintage Vidimate no model number. Not sure if I should leave it out of the flow.

Anyone happen to know the passthrough setup?

Thx
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
08-04-2017, 07:09 PM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 2,290
Thanks: 76
Thanked 614 Times in 558 Posts
Why would you use ugly soiled noisy composite connections when you have cleaner sharper s-video available from your VCR and from your ES10? Use s-video. Turn off the ES10's DNR.

The ES10 is used as pass-thru if you have a VCR that doesn't have a line tbc. Are you sure you want to use the ES10? Doesn't your JVC SVHS machine have a line tbc? What model JVC are you using?

The old Vidicraft processor doesn't have s-video connections. For that very reason I wouldn't use it, as well as because of the aging conditions of electronics inside that ancient unit. It is basically used to control the brightness, contrast, and saturation levels of an incoming signal to prevent illegal signal levels and clipping in your captured video. You can accomplish the same thing with the ATI 600's proc amp controls, which you should be able to use via your capture software, VirtualDub capture, or AmarecTV, as well as using a histogram of some sort to measure the input signal and view your results in preview. I assume you understand the importance of capturing analog video at suitable signal levels. If you expect to also apply color correction and/or sharpening during capture, you're in for severely disappointing results -- that's the kind of correction that should be applied in post-processing.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
08-10-2017, 06:07 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,115
Thanks: 566
Thanked 886 Times in 796 Posts
Remember sanlyn, he's asking because he may not know the "easy" things like we do. (ie, s-video vs. composite)

ES10 passthrough is simple.
- s-video in to LINE 1 (on the back) works fine
- turn ES10 on, change to LINE 1 input
- rear output to the next item (external TBC or capture card)

It's pretty much automatic, nothing to setup.

If I remember correctly, the final models of Vidicraft gear had s-video, before being renamed to Studio1 (later again renamed to SignVideo). However, you can crossover with some TBCs, namely the AVT-8710. So you'd have:

VCR > via s-video > ES10 > via s-video > AVT-8710 > via composite > Vidicraft > via composite > capture card

Of course, you'll still encounter the quality loss. The disadvantages of the proc amp or detailer may be outweighed by the potential advantages. They usually are, but not always. The tape and your eyes will have to judge that.

Even with ES10, a good VCR is needed. But remember that if using an S-VHS deck with TBC that the TBC must be disabled. The ES10 needs to bad signal for cleaning. Let it and later TBCs in the workflow chain fix the signal and image.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does the Panasonic ES15 passthrough both NTSC and PAL? retartedted Capture, Record, Transfer 1 04-12-2017 08:45 PM
Panasonic ES10/15 in PAL in Australia? via Email or PM Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 1 07-25-2014 07:52 AM
Using Panasonic ES10 DVD as a Passthrough RABinMS Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 7 07-20-2014 06:50 AM
Panasonic AG-1980 error F04? Useful VCR for TV tuner & signal passthrough? ALLstarGUY Video Hardware Repair 2 11-15-2012 05:48 PM
Question on the Panasonic DMR-ES10 mrwhitethc Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 4 04-13-2008 07:30 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 PM  —  vBulletin Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd