Quantcast Starting my capturing project: VirtualDub and Huffyuv settings? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
08-14-2017, 09:38 AM
ragu0012 ragu0012 is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 25
Thanks: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I am ready to start my capturing project with equipment I bought from Lordsmurf.

1. JVC SR-VS30 SVHS
2. Datavideo TBC-3000
3. ATI TV Wonder HD600

I have downloaded VirtualDub and Huffyuv Multi-threading.

I have hundreds of VHS tapes to capture and have different goals for different videos.

Some of them I want to:
1. Capture at highest reasonable quality for archival purposes and ability to edit or correct color/exposure on Adobe Premiere

Others I want to:
2. Post straight to Youtube with little or no post-production

And some I want to:
3. Burn straight to DVD with little or no post-production

What do you guys think, as far as broad time-saving advice before I get started? I'm sure I'll have a lot of detail questions once I start running tapes through.

Thanks so much!

-- merged --

After I capture I try bringing the video into virtualdub to trim off the front and back end and possibly do deinterlacing or using other filters.

However it crashes immediately, giving me this message.

Any idea?


Attached Images
File Type: jpg EIKxCES.jpg (40.3 KB, 5 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
09-04-2017, 02:47 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,178
Thanks: 573
Thanked 899 Times in 807 Posts
Try to capture with plain Huffyuv -- not MT, hacked, etc.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
09-04-2017, 03:13 PM
ragu0012 ragu0012 is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 25
Thanks: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I should have mentioned... this problem was happening with MT HuffyUV so then I captured with Huffyuv 2.1 and the same thing happened and that is the screen shot i posted.

Do you think I need to do some uninstalling and start fresh?

-- merged --

I take that back actually... the last video was captured with Huffyuv 2.1.1 64 bit.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
09-04-2017, 04:54 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,178
Thanks: 573
Thanked 899 Times in 807 Posts
Use the original 32-bit version.
You often cannot capture with the variants. Those are intended for non-capture uses.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
09-05-2017, 08:11 AM
ragu0012 ragu0012 is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 25
Thanks: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Giving another crack at it today. Are these the best capture timing settings for the equipment i have?

Reply With Quote
  #6  
09-05-2017, 10:44 AM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 2,344
Thanks: 76
Thanked 637 Times in 575 Posts
Can't give you an answer, because your image was off-site and is lost and unavailable. Please attach documents and samples directly to your posts at digitalfaq. Ask if you don't know how.

A 5-section, updated and detailed guide to VirtualDub capture settings starts here: Capturing with VirtualDub [Settings Guide]

.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
09-06-2017, 07:39 AM
ragu0012 ragu0012 is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 25
Thanks: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I apologize for the image issue... I hadn't read that instruction until now.

The reason I chose "do not resync" instead of keeping the settings as you suggest in your tutorial is because my first VHS ended up with chipmunk voices in it.

You must be logged in to view this content; either login or register for the forum. The attached screen shots, before/after images, photos and graphics are created/posted for the benefit of site members. And you are invited to join our digital media community.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sanlyn View Post
Can't give you an answer, because your image was off-site and is lost and unavailable. Please attach documents and samples directly to your posts at digitalfaq. Ask if you don't know how.

A 5-section, updated and detailed guide to VirtualDub capture settings starts here: Capturing with VirtualDub [Settings Guide]

.


Reply With Quote
  #8  
09-06-2017, 08:30 AM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 2,344
Thanks: 76
Thanked 637 Times in 575 Posts
The setting suggested in the newer VirtualDub tutorial for USB capture devices is to enable "Do not resync between audio and video streams". It's also mentioned in the text that you should turn on "Automatically disable resync when integrated audio/video capture is detected." This is because most USB devices have their own integrated audio sync circuitry. This is stated in the text that accompanies the guide's image of timing options. It's also mentioned that most USB devices shouldn't be used with audio preview or audio monitoring turned on during capture. This is a limitation of many USB devices. Audio can be checked before capture starts, and can be viewed during capture with the audio meter, which is also explained in the guide. I've auditioned several USB devices with my two capture PC's and had no problems.

Audio input should be connected to the USB device's input dongle, not to your PC's capture card.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
09-06-2017, 10:04 AM
ragu0012 ragu0012 is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 25
Thanks: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
OK thanks for the clarification. This is the same tutorial linked above, right?

A couple other questions just to be clear

-is there a real difference or preference between using overlay or preview with my equipment? Both appear to work.

-you suggest turning off cropping during capture, right? Is there a way to crop in the next step after capture when using filters and stuff?

-on your guide in the capture filter properties the "VCR input" option is greyed out, but is an option for me. Should I check or uncheck?


Quote:
Originally Posted by sanlyn View Post
The setting suggested in the newer VirtualDub tutorial for USB capture devices is to enable "Do not resync between audio and video streams". It's also mentioned in the text that you should turn on "Automatically disable resync when integrated audio/video capture is detected." This is because most USB devices have their own integrated audio sync circuitry. This is stated in the text that accompanies the guide's image of timing options. It's also mentioned that most USB devices shouldn't be used with audio preview or audio monitoring turned on during capture. This is a limitation of many USB devices. Audio can be checked before capture starts, and can be viewed during capture with the audio meter, which is also explained in the guide. I've auditioned several USB devices with my two capture PC's and had no problems.

Audio input should be connected to the USB device's input dongle, not to your PC's capture card.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
09-06-2017, 12:42 PM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 2,344
Thanks: 76
Thanked 637 Times in 575 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ragu0012 View Post
OK thanks for the clarification. This is the same tutorial linked above, right?
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ragu0012 View Post
-is there a real difference or preference between using overlay or preview with my equipment? Both appear to work.
Use "Preview". Overlay show you what your graphics card sees during capture. Preview shows what Virtualdub is capturing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ragu0012 View Post
-you suggest turning off cropping during capture, right? Is there a way to crop in the next step after capture when using filters and stuff?
Crop later. Set any cropping setup to all-zeros before starting capture to turn off cropping. Normally, crop is used to set up the levels controls and histogram readout. Borders and other elements, if not cropped during levels setup, will throw off the histogram. This is explained in the sections on the histogram display and the crop display.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ragu0012 View Post
-on your guide in the capture filter properties the "VCR input" option is greyed out, but is an option for me. Should I check or uncheck?
I don't see "VCR input" anywhere in the guide or in my version of VirtualDub capture. That might be a feature of your particular card, although I've never seen it mentioned. Usually the VCR's connection is in the devices and input source setup menus. If you have a "VCR input item, what is displayed if you click on it?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
09-06-2017, 01:57 PM
ragu0012 ragu0012 is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 25
Thanks: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yep here is what it looks like on your guide. When I'm in my own settings I am able to check or uncheck the VCR input box, but cannot tell what that feature does. Thanks again for your help.
You must be logged in to view this content; either login or register for the forum. The attached screen shots, before/after images, photos and graphics are created/posted for the benefit of site members. And you are invited to join our digital media community.



Quote:
Originally Posted by sanlyn View Post
I don't see "VCR input" anywhere in the guide or in my version of VirtualDub capture. That might be a feature of your particular card, although I've never seen it mentioned. Usually the VCR's connection is in the devices and input source setup menus. If you have a "VCR input item, what is displayed if you click on it?


Reply With Quote
  #12  
09-06-2017, 03:38 PM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 2,344
Thanks: 76
Thanked 637 Times in 575 Posts
Oh. That! It should be enabled if you're using a VCR as source instead of a tuner. Actually, it's redundant -- you've already told VirtuaLDub elsewhere that your input source is a composite or s-video input.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank sanlyn for this useful post: ragu0012 (09-06-2017)
  #13  
09-06-2017, 03:42 PM
ragu0012 ragu0012 is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 25
Thanks: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks again sanlyn and Lord Smurf. I will see how my captures turn out now, then I'll move onto the restore, filter, improve quality forum board.

I will be encoding some of these videos for Vimeo/Facebook/Youtube playback. Some others will need to be encoded for DVD authoring.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
09-10-2017, 06:16 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,178
Thanks: 573
Thanked 899 Times in 807 Posts
BTW, you have one of the best proc amps around in that TBC-3000. Use it. That alone may save you some grief in trying to color correct in software. A good hardware proc amp is another reason why I tend to color correct in software less that some.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
09-10-2017, 08:33 PM
ragu0012 ragu0012 is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 25
Thanks: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Is the best way to do it to hit "still" on a frame to make color adjustments from there?

Do I need to use an external monitor or can I do fine tuning on the computer screen?

I am red-green color blind which causes me some issues with color correcting. (WHite balance issues are no problem for me.. it's just harder for me to notice and diagnose things like a color cast or chroma problems.

I am pretty good with histograms however.. is there a way to bring up a histogram on the capture mode of Virtualdub while i make adjustments on the TBC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
BTW, you have one of the best proc amps around in that TBC-3000. Use it. That alone may save you some grief in trying to color correct in software. A good hardware proc amp is another reason why I tend to color correct in software less that some.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
09-10-2017, 08:39 PM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 2,344
Thanks: 76
Thanked 637 Times in 575 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ragu0012 View Post
Is the best way to do it to hit "still" on a frame to make color adjustments from there?

Do I need to use an external monitor or can I do fine tuning on the computer screen?

I am red-green color blind which causes me some issues with color correcting. (WHite balance issues are no problem for me.. it's just harder for me to notice and diagnose things like a color cast or chroma problems.

I am pretty good with histograms however.. is there a way to bring up a histogram on the capture mode of Virtualdub while i make adjustments on the TBC?
Color correction, whether you're color blind or not, and especially complex color correction, should never be done during capture. If you have a heavy duty studio shop setup such as Industrial Light & Magic, or Disney, you could do it during capture after a test run and several rounds of equipment calibration.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
09-10-2017, 09:09 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,178
Thanks: 573
Thanked 899 Times in 807 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ragu0012 View Post
I am red-green color blind which causes me some issues with color correcting.
I am pretty good with histograms however.. is there a way to bring up a histogram on the capture mode of Virtualdub while i make adjustments on the TBC?
You can call up a histogram on capture, I think, but it's something I never do.

You may want to save the proc amp for contrast/brightness fixes only, and save the color work for post-capture.

Some of this is starting to get into preference, and not right/wrong answers.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Capturing with VirtualDub [Settings Guide] lordsmurf Capture, Record, Transfer 22 06-13-2017 06:04 AM
Huffyuv vs. Uncompressed? Need VirtualDub capturing help! VideoTechMan Capture, Record, Transfer 14 01-03-2016 05:06 AM
VHS Huffyuv VirtualDub filter chain settings suggestions? Zoink187 Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 2 03-06-2014 10:22 AM
HuffyUV Settings with VirtualDub for capture naripeddi Capture, Record, Transfer 7 04-12-2013 02:50 AM
Starting project, capturing videotapes to digital? Kedoch Project Planning, Workflows 13 06-16-2011 10:03 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 PM  —  vBulletin Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd