Quantcast VirtualDub lossless capture jerky/jumpy with video overlay on? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
10-06-2017, 12:23 AM
nicholasserra nicholasserra is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 42
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Looking for a sanity check here. I'm trying to capture some lossless video (Huffyuv) via Virtualdub. Setup is:

HI8 cam -> svideo -> ATI tv wonder 600 -> virtualdub.

Output file ended up with a very jerky or jumpy feeling video. Not smooth at all, would hop frames it felt like. Tried capturing to my SSD vs my magnetic drive and same issue. Tried with DV capture via Scenalyzer issue was gone.

After more experimenting I tried capturing lossless via virtualdub with Video overlay mode turned off, aka set to "No display". These output files look good.

Is this a common issue? I don't see this mentioned in the guide. Maybe it should be included. I'm wondering if my eyes are playing tricks on me at this point. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
10-06-2017, 01:06 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,169
Thanked 1,990 Times in 1,716 Posts
Almost always due to dropped frames, which are due to no external frame TBC in workflow.

DV capture experience depends on DV hardware in use. It's not a TBC replacement, but can sometimes be less stressed by timing errors. Still often dropped frames, however.

Preview OFF, with error only ON, may point to another issue. There are hard to troubleshoot. For example, if SSD looks bad, it's not IO. But it may be due to the graphics card.

No, not normal.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
10-06-2017, 01:23 AM
nicholasserra nicholasserra is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 42
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Gotcha. Same issue was present with and without TBC1000 in the mix. Only thing so far fixing issue is turning video Overlay off. Saw the issue capturing to two different hard drives too.

You mention graphics card: I'm not running a standalone graphics card. Just the onboard video from my 3770k ivy bridge i7. Maybe that's playing into it a bit. Would surprise me though, it's fast enough to play many modern games. Something to think about I guess.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
10-06-2017, 01:30 AM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 3,648
Thanked 1,248 Times in 970 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicholasserra View Post
Is this a common issue?
If you're using the vDub defaults, an ancient guide, and no external frame-level tbc, yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicholasserra View Post
I don't see this mentioned in the guide. Maybe it should be included.
It's included, along with a lot of other advice that didn't appear 12 years ago, in this guide: Capturing with VirtualDub [Settings Guide].
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hauppauge video capture is lossless? dinkleberg Capture, Record, Transfer 5 08-26-2016 12:19 AM
Scrambled video in VirtualDub VHS capture? FLGuy83 Capture, Record, Transfer 5 12-01-2015 12:32 PM
Diamond ATI 750HD PCIE - Problems capturing, black overlay after first capture danexpo Capture, Record, Transfer 6 11-30-2014 11:37 PM
Jumpy VideoRedo with .VOB files from DVD Decrypter? cbehr91 Encode, Convert for discs 1 07-21-2014 03:53 AM
VirtualDub - Can't Capture Video rckowal Capture, Record, Transfer 7 01-19-2010 06:49 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 AM