Quantcast HD capture issues with Intensity Shuttle: audio sync, dropped frames? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
11-05-2017, 05:33 AM
koberulz koberulz is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 452
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Hooked my BlackMagic Intensity Shuttle up with VirtualDub and tried to capture in UtHD. Worked just fine once, but now everything I capture gets out of sync by six or seven seconds by the end.

I'm capturing on a laptop, to a USB3.0 RAID0 drive. I've also tried capturing in 8- and 10-bit YUV via the packaged BlackMagic software, but it drops a frame every 5-20 minutes depending on format.

According to the Disk Speed Utility my RAID0 is fast enough most of the time for 27-28fps at 1080, with a checkmark next to both read and write for 1080i50 in 10-bit for both YUV and RGB...most of the time. Intermittently it drops significantly (from around 150-160 to sub-120), managing only 18fps at 1080.

While capturing to MJPEG does work fine, it means a lot of screwing around to fix issues with field order and color shifts, so I'd rather avoid it if possible.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
11-05-2017, 03:38 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,783
Thanked 2,152 Times in 1,852 Posts
This is a well-known problem. The BM cards drop heavy frames on SD capture, but do not report the drops to the software. The most obvious tell-tale sign of dropped frames is audio sync loss.

The cards is a POS for SD. Only use for HD, the main reason it exists. SD was poor afterthought that never worked right.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
11-05-2017, 09:13 PM
koberulz koberulz is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 452
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
I am using it for HD. I've got my USB-Live2 for VHS work.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
11-11-2017, 09:54 PM
juhok juhok is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 379
Thanked 105 Times in 87 Posts
What..? The card I've used works just fine for SD. It drops with bad analog sources so TBC-1000 or similar is needed with those.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
12-04-2017, 08:21 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,783
Thanked 2,152 Times in 1,852 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by koberulz View Post
I am using it for HD. I've got my USB-Live2 for VHS work.
I'm stumped then.

Quote:
Originally Posted by juhok View Post
What..? The card I've used works just fine for SD. It drops with bad analog sources so TBC-1000 or similar is needed with those.
You know what? I think every complaint I've read to date was NTSC users. Not PAL. Hmm. And TBC was in use for them as well.

This is a card I've heavily read about since it was in pre-release, and never bought one based on complaints (from knowledgeable users, not random "reviews" off Amazon/blogs/etc). Perhaps if I found one cheaply, I do it. Not a big budget for testing gear anymore.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #6  
12-04-2017, 08:43 AM
juhok juhok is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 379
Thanked 105 Times in 87 Posts
Maybe there are also differences between models and hardware revisions. I've got older Decklink Studio without HDMI. Cannot check the exact model because it seems it has disappeared from my system devices just now for some reason..
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU spike causing audio sync issues theglenlivet12 Capture, Record, Transfer 12 02-13-2017 11:34 PM
Blackmagic Intensity Shuttle doesn't report dropped frames metaleonid Capture, Record, Transfer 7 02-11-2015 09:48 PM
VirtualDub audio sync issues? rds11 Capture, Record, Transfer 2 09-20-2014 01:48 PM
How do you judge if a video capture is good? Dropped frames? Eagleaye Capture, Record, Transfer 2 07-17-2013 10:56 PM
Looking for VHS capture advice-CBR/VBR, bitrate, res upconversion, dropped frames jtrevor99 Capture, Record, Transfer 9 09-06-2011 03:23 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 AM