Quantcast Captured two times, frames don't match? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
12-26-2017, 06:04 AM
benzio benzio is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 16
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hello everyone.
I have some old vhs and I would like to capture them at the maximum possible quality.
I have this equipment:

VCR Panasonic HS1000 with line tbc
AVT-8120 external tbc
Hauppauge USB Live 2 Capture card
Virtual dub for capturing.

I would like to follow this workflow:
1) Capure the vhs two times.
2) Deinterlace the two videos doubling the frame rate
3) Put the second in overlay with the first in Adobe Premiere with opacity 50% to clean more noise.

When I capture the video virtualdub says 0 frames inserted and 0 frames dropped for both the captures.
But when I go to Premiere there are a lot of unmatching frames.
If I adjust the alignment of the two videos at a certain point, it becomes misaligned somewhere else because in one video there is some frame dropped that the second video has and the other way around, so I have to manually cut a lot of times the second video to make it match entirely.

It's the capture card fault or it's an unavoidable issue in analog capturing?
I would understand this behavior if virtual dub told me that there were dropped/inserted frames, but this is not the case.

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
02-06-2018, 11:11 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 7,006
Thanks: 694
Thanked 1,066 Times in 948 Posts
The AVT-8120 splitter is not a TBC. The TBC does not function for non-splitscreen use. So any dropped frames will not be corrected by the device. I tested this device last year. Cypress advertises "TBC" on many of their devices, but sometimes it's not present everywhere. It's very misleading.

The Hauppauge may also be doing something to the video before the computer (thus capture software) sees it.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
02-12-2018, 07:55 AM
jmac698 jmac698 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 387
Thanks: 3
Thanked 69 Times in 52 Posts
I covered this here
VirtualDub timing options? Frame drops with ATI 600 PCI card?

Also, there are now Avisynth scripts to automatically align the two captures. I don't have a link atm.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
vhs capture card frames

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Post processing on analog capture to match a reference video lollo2 Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 2 09-16-2017 02:45 AM
How to edit VOB files broken into times and not charters/videos ? via Email or PM Edit Video, Audio 1 01-16-2012 03:14 AM
Compression with MMC ATI, P frames and B frames for MPEG-2 ? John Capture, Record, Transfer 1 08-20-2011 10:15 PM
Editing in Vegas Pro 9, recommended storage space, typical times for rendering video? merchantord Edit Video, Audio 9 08-31-2010 06:27 PM
MMC Preset Times lantern Capture, Record, Transfer 2 08-05-2004 08:16 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 PM  —  vBulletin Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd