Quantcast Record one channel while watching another - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
07-19-2006, 04:37 AM
stoogedog stoogedog is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 94
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hi, my friend has cable and a vcr/ dvd recorder. she wants to record one channel while watching another, but can't do it without a cable box which she doesn't want to pay the monthly fee for. is there any way around having to use a cable box. please let me know. any and all input is appreciated. thanks
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
07-19-2006, 05:10 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,209
Thanked 1,350 Times in 1,192 Posts
Is this digital cable? Are any of them analog? Are any of them non-premiums? There may be a way sometimes, in some situations.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
07-19-2006, 06:13 AM
stoogedog stoogedog is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 94
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hi LS, yes to all 3 questions. lmk. thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
07-19-2006, 06:37 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,209
Thanked 1,350 Times in 1,192 Posts
Digital cable and premium channels require the cable box. No way around it.

The non-premium analog channels can be split from the main line to any cable-ready TV or VCR.

I imagine your friend would be juggling a lot of wires to switch around. This time he wants to record a digital channel, and watch something like TBS. But next time, have to swap wiring to record TBC and instead watch HBO.


- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
07-19-2006, 06:41 AM
stoogedog stoogedog is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 94
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hi LS, could this be done with a switcher box? at one time i had a box that i ran the cable line and the satellite line into, and when i wanted to watch either, i just switched to the one i wanted to view. lmk. thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
07-19-2006, 07:09 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,209
Thanked 1,350 Times in 1,192 Posts
Maybe. But that would be one at a time, not two at once.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't Record From DVR to DVD Recorder rob0466 Capture, Record, Transfer 7 02-19-2009 06:52 AM
Jvc drm150 copy prohibited cannot record manthing Capture, Record, Transfer 3 11-11-2008 01:19 AM
Need to record Copy Protected from Sat/cable. Konfusion Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 18 03-17-2008 03:23 PM
Acutal size with "record cropped video" ? jlietz Capture, Record, Transfer 3 03-03-2005 11:41 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 AM