05-17-2018, 04:49 PM
Free Member

Hi all!

I'm new to the whole video capture setup, so apologies in advance if I ask any trivial questions. The FAQs on this site have so far been very helpful!

After discovering that some of our family 8 mm camcorder tapes are already starting to degrade, I've embarked on a mission to digitize it all. Before I sit through 30+ hours of home video though, I really want to nail my setup so I do it right the first go round.

My current setup:
I am playing back our 8 mm cassettes via the original Sharp camcorder component output. This part of my setup is unlikely to change, as it seems the head on the camcorder is misaligned just enough so that the tapes don't play back correctly on other (properly aligned) 8 mm players. I have a Hauppage WinTV-PVR-150 PCI card for video capture, which is working fine on Windows 10 using their WinTV program. Based on my research, this card has a hardware MPEG-2 encoder which spits out MPEG-2 TS files to my hard drive. I am using Handbrake to crop the picture slightly (...tracking issues) and re-encoding it as H.264 for storage and ease of playback (I will keep the original TS files though).

My questions:
  • Do you think there will be a significant increase in quality by investing in an ATI/other alternative capture hardware? I assume the benefit will be that I can capture a lossless stream (whereas the WinTV-PVR-150 is a lossy hardware MPEG-2 stream). The source media isn't exactly the greatest quality though, and resolution-wise the PVR-150's captures seem alright - just a bit desaturated, which I can fix in Final Cut.
  • Likewise, is my Hauppage card likely better or worse than these $30-50 USB dongles available on Amazon? I could seen investing up to $100-150 to improve my capture quality.