Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
06-27-2018, 05:32 PM
Free Member

Okay, first off I'm new at this and am trying to learn as best I can. That being said there are times I feel like my head is going to explode.

The problem is that when I playback a VHSC tape inside that adapter gadget, for capture of course, I get a background flutter noise at a rapid pace. It reminds me of rotating helicopter blades, but faster. The video looks to be fine and, other than the background fluttering, the audio seems fine also. And the AV is in sync. And this happens with blank tapes as well as tapes that I’ve recorded with my camcorder. When I turn on the volume level meter in Virtualdub you can see it fluctuating from -40 to -23db on both channels.

I am playing back on a JVC7900U/TBC1000/ATI600 USB into a win10 machine with a separate sound card, capturing with VirtualDub/HuffyUV. I cleaned the VCR heads etc. with chamois swabs and 90+% isopropyl alcohol.

And, just to be clear, I can hear this through Vdub without having to do an actual capture, just in preview with audio playback on.

I’ve tried:
• Bypassing the TBC1000
• Capturing with Audio interlacing off and on
• Using Direct stream Audio
• Using Full Processing Mode Audio
• Changing the Audio mode on the VCR to everything it offered
• And of course sacrificing a chicken
All to no avail.

Now here’s where it gets interesting. I put in a prerecorded full size VHS tape from 1989 into the VCR while the VCR was set for Normal Audio and heard the flutter. When I switched to HIFI audio though, the flutter went away.

I quickly retried the same thing for the compact tapes in the adapter, thinking maybe switching back and forth ending on HIFI would help, but no luck. They still fluttered.

Suggestions?
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

06-28-2018, 10:16 PM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,461 Times in 2,093 Posts