Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
07-29-2018, 06:53 PM
Free Member

Hi everybody. I am quite new to this topic so please go easy on me

Some weeks ago when me and my family tried to rewatch old homemade 8mm PAL tapes of the early 90s we found out that some of them have started to become difficult to watch, due to lots of audio and video breaks while playing it on our tv (with the good old component method we've always used).

I am really afraid of those childhood memories being lost completely thats why I took it upon myself to save what is left of those tapes and all the other ones we have to some kind of digital form. Another thing that might be worth to note is that I really dont have too much money available atm so I have to find some at least halfway cheap way to do it.
Our old camcorder is the Sony Video8 Handycam CCD-TR105E with component output only.

My first approach was to buy one of those cheap usb grabbers. I bought the "Aplic USB Audio/Video Grabber" on Amazon some days ago and was quite unhappy with the results. The video and audio I captured was sadly enough waay more stumbly and broken then when watching the same tape with the same component cable on our tv. I tried their software "Honestech VHS to DvD 2.0 SE Capture" and VirtualDub. Both give more or less the same broken stumbly video (even though the one from VirtualDub looks a little more highres and has the audio not synched properly).

Long story short, I will send the cheap Grabber back and would be so happy if you guys could point me into the right direction. I dont care too much about getting the best possible resolution, lossless audio/video, etc. I just need something to conserve the memory in a more or less watchable way.

thanks in advance
SuperS
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

07-30-2018, 08:39 AM
Free Member

Quote:
Sony Video8 Handycam CCD-TR105E with component output only