07-05-2018, 02:44 AM
Free Member

I'm not sure it's luma crosstalk as it also happens on composite and not only S-video. I'm not sure where the fault might lie.

I'm using a philips vr520 with 6 heads and a happauge live usb 2(the one sort of recommended here)

I've tried reading through some of these topics but I'm very new at this so any help is appreciated.

(A tbc is too expensive for my needs although they look fantastic.)

Here is a picture of how it looks all the time:

https://imgur.com/a/bZmNrrG

the machine is also making a loud .. sinus noise.

Thanks in advance.

EDIT: The machine also has a hard time finding a good image. I tried using a cleaning tape but the second time the string got stuck. I'm not sure if it's just because the machin is old or if it's worth it to attempt to open it up and clean it ?

-- merged --

So, this also happens when I connect a different VCR.

And I loose the image completely if the s-video is the only plugin that's connected to the scart, for some reason.

Attached Images
File Type: png althetime.png (347.9 KB, 120 downloads)
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

07-10-2018, 02:32 AM
Free Member

This looks like some sort of high frequency interference. Could be a ground loop, or maybe a power adapter, light dimmer or some other electrical equipment causing high-frequency noise.
The following users thank hodgey for this useful post: lordsmurf (09-02-2018)
07-10-2018, 03:23 AM
Free Member

Thanks for the reply !

I tried to connect my ps1 with the same cables (although with the yellow phono for video - which has the same issue as the s-video on the vcr machines) and there's nothing of the sort from that. Could it be the scart connector for the video cables ? neither VCR has a s-video out, so I'm limited to scart.
09-02-2018, 02:58 PM
Premium Member