Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
01-24-2019, 11:34 PM
Free Member

I’m starting this thread per the suggestion of another user. Anyways I have been tinkering with VHS captures for quite sometime but the captures I’ve been doing for the past two years have occasional minor skips which when viewed frame by frame reveal 1-2 frames have been dropped undetected by the softwares I use. I had done captures in the past that did not seem to have this problem and it’s just puzzling.

I’m beginning to suspect it may be the Panasonic DME-ES15 DVD Recorder that I’ve been using as a TBC like pass through which may be the problem. Two months ago I decided to record a VHS with the DVD Recorder and burn a disc with the machine so no computer or capture devices were involved. Test watching the disc I found a skip about 8 minutes in and found that a frame was missing between these two shots.

2776DE6C-5B7D-4BB7-8D44-BCEF54145AA9.jpeg
You must be logged in to view this content; either login or register for the forum. The attached screen shots, before/after images, photos and graphics are created/posted for the benefit of site members. And you are invited to join our digital media community.

Here’s the missing from a capture done on a capture device with the DVD Recorder as a pass through.

0DC91F63-9D0D-4CB2-9F19-B8B649321129.jpeg

For a closer examination I have clips from both recordings in the link below. The skip is at 00:00:08;01 mark of clip 1 though it is a bit hard to detect on a computer unless viewed frame by frame. Watching on a TV may make it stand out more.

https://1drv.ms/f/s!Ao7ljwxhBJ_miGg_bkxYtRxp9UV7

Next is another example from a different tape. Both done with capture devices with the DVD Recorder. Skip occurs at 00:00:05;08 of clip 3.

https://1drv.ms/f/s!Ao7ljwxhBJ_miGkg40UKflQixwf2