Quantcast Macrovision help - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
09-25-2006, 08:50 PM
manthing manthing is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 329
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
though i have a datavideo tbc3000, i still cannot defeat macrovision on a couple of movies/cartoons, whether vhs or laserdisc source.

so, am thinking of getting another device.

anyone here know about these two models?:

sonel macrovision remover
http://www.sonel.com/

copymate
http://www.satalogue.com/section6/page0.htm

how can i tell which device is better/best?

any others that are better still?

again, thank you for your help.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
09-26-2006, 12:37 AM
markatisu markatisu is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 202
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
You cant beat Macrovision with a Datavideo TBC?? That would be a first for me since I thought it stripped all macrovision signals from hitting recording device

I have the US version of the Copymate and it seems to work fine, have not had to use it ever since I started using my TBC's.

The Sonel one looks like it might offer more options or be better made.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
09-26-2006, 01:54 AM
manthing manthing is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 329
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
markatisu,

firstly ta for the reply.
secondly, could it be that my tbc3000 is faulty?

bbuutt ... i have transffered SOME other vhs movies which had some sort of protection using the tbc3000 and those were hunky-dory.

i suppose i just have to test one of the other devices and see what happens.

ho-hum
Reply With Quote
  #4  
09-26-2006, 02:30 AM
markatisu markatisu is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 202
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
How old are the movies you are transferring? I know Daniel had an issue with some old black and white tapes that for some reason were tripping up his device so he had to send them to me to do.

It could be the signal from your player is tripping up as Macrovision but its really not.

Its just odd because usually 9 times out of 10 a TBC removes Macrovision 100%, and personally I have never had a tape or laserdisc not transfer when using my AVT or Datavideo ones.

Is there something you can put as a passthrough to test, like put the laserdisc out into the VCR in and then the VCR out to the DVD recorder/computer or something just to use to filter the signal a bit
Reply With Quote
  #5  
09-26-2006, 08:10 AM
manthing manthing is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 329
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
yup, tried various things.

laserdisc player -> dvd recorder => no good
laserdisc player -> vhs recorder => no good
laserdisc player -> vhs recorder -> dvd recorder => no good
laserdisc player -> tbc -> dvd recorder => no good
laserdisc player -> pc => no good

also tried using scart-to-scart, and scatr-to-svideo, and svideo-to-svideo. again, nada.

guess i'll have to fork out a few squids and buy another tbc device. maybe i can get el cheapo one on ebay?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
09-26-2006, 08:18 AM
markatisu markatisu is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 202
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I wonder if the laserdisc player is not the one causing the problems?

I have one of those macrovision devices if you want to borrow it and give it a try, it does NTSC and PAL. PM me if interested
Reply With Quote
  #7  
09-27-2006, 07:37 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,930
Thanked 2,171 Times in 1,871 Posts
How many Laserdiscs are giving you problems? All of them?
What leads you to believe it's Macrovision?

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #8  
09-27-2006, 08:57 AM
manthing manthing is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 329
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
sorry for the delayed reply.

markatisu -> man that is big of you indeed. but dang it hell, i'm in the 51st state (UK) and there really is no way for either of us to SAFELY & cheaply send anything across the pond.

LS -> i'm no expert. it could be the laserdiscs or the laserdisc player. or something else. or maybe macrovision.

the one thing i can say for certain is that it does playback fine on my old telly.

if i don't use the TBC, and try and record on either the dvd recorder or the vhs recorder, the pictures & colours are all over the place.

when i do use the TBC, i do get a solid picture, but part of it is off-screen. give me about 30mins and i'll do a screenshot for you to make things clearer.

so based on this, i'm thinking it is something like macrovision.

ah well, if i can't, i can't, right?
might get a life instead?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
09-27-2006, 09:43 AM
manthing manthing is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 329
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
okay here you go.

1st image no tbc. straight connection between laserdeic player & dvd recorder.

2nd image with tbc. this time, laserdisc player to tbc (via svideo) and tbc to dvd recorder (via svideo) as my tbc only had component and svideo ins & outs.





more of the pic to be seen. its steady and has colour.
but you can see that part of the pic is lost/chopped off at the top and some text from another cartoon on the disc at the bottom.

does this indicate to you that its macrovision?

looking at the 2nd image, do i actually have the whole pic, just that its above center? in which case, i could record it so, then process it through tmpenc to remove bottom, and centre it?

okay people, witching hour is upon me. and blue vamp from salem's lot is scratching at my window. time for me to go beddy-byes. if need be, i'll pickup this thread tomorrow.

i thank you for your input and wish you a good day/night.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
09-27-2006, 10:07 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,930
Thanked 2,171 Times in 1,871 Posts
That looks more like NTSC/PAL conversion problems.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #11  
09-27-2006, 08:29 PM
manthing manthing is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 329
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
blimey LS, you can't give me a one-liner and leave me hanging from the rope!

any ideas on what i need to do to over said problem?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
09-28-2006, 05:30 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,930
Thanked 2,171 Times in 1,871 Posts
You cannot have NTSC source with a PAL recorder. Your recorder would need to be able to do switchable NTSC and PAL recording. Or you'll need to let somebody in NTSC-land do the transfers for you. Or spend money on one of those converter boxes, but be warned those are expensive and tend to look like crap.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 AM