Quantcast Recommendations for s-video switch/splitter? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
02-03-2019, 12:46 PM
drzapp drzapp is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 54
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
I'm looking at different S-Video switches, and most of them have reviews that say they affect the picture quality, so I'm hesitant to buy them. I only need 3-4 inputs, 1 out. Are there any switches/ splitters that users here would recommend? Thanks
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
02-03-2019, 01:17 PM
Eric-Jan Eric-Jan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Netherlands,
Posts: 193
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
Never heard that s-video switchers existed ! HDMI yes....
My guess they made them digital... and that has a bad effect.. since s-video is ANALOG !
so best... just plug or unplug your cables, and keep these cables as short possible,
Because you do want to have optimal quality capture results, is my guess, which is the most important objective.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
02-03-2019, 01:48 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,477
Thanked 1,392 Times in 1,224 Posts
Switchers are never recommended.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
02-03-2019, 03:09 PM
drzapp drzapp is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 54
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Thanks for the quick replies... I figured that they would introduce noise, but I have also seen threads on videohelp that said they have one that doesn't effect quality, but didn't say who made it... I have some unique mobility restraints that makes it difficult to swap cables on the back each time, and I'm sure that would wear out the plugs over time. As I was typing this, I just had the idea of using some short s-video extensions to move the cable swapping part out where I can get to it easy. As long as the extensions are good quality, should work, right?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
02-03-2019, 03:33 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,477
Thanked 1,392 Times in 1,224 Posts
Neither swap s-video (at the device), nor use switchers.

Instead get s-video extension cables, and swap connections at that juncture. I've rarely seen extensions have any effect on quality, whereas with non-pro switchers it's common. I use extensions frequently, but coiled up near the source, as the constant swapping at the device can wear it out (and thus cause an expensive repair). Just don't coil, run it the full 3-6 feet to a more convenient location.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: drzapp (02-05-2019)
  #6  
02-03-2019, 03:55 PM
ELinder ELinder is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 128
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Interesting, I had always heard it's OK to coil shielded cables as long as you aren't coiling a mix of power and signal cables too close together.

Erich
Reply With Quote
  #7  
02-03-2019, 04:23 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,477
Thanked 1,392 Times in 1,224 Posts
I only coil the s-video extensions, maybe 3-4 wraps each, not intertwined with anything else. I use the 3-foot extensions from Monoprice, and have no issues. If anything, the extensions seem to be better quality than some of the JVC cables I use. After my last JVC VCR s-video port cost about $250 to fix 7 years ago, I moved to extensions for gear that I often switch.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
02-03-2019, 04:47 PM
Sergei316 Sergei316 is online now
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 37
Thanked 11 Times in 7 Posts
I thought about using a s-video switch box for my needs as well. After reading several of LS's posts about not using them I decided to build my own s-video patch panel.

I use a 6U rack with a 1U-12 hole Neutrik D-hole panel with s-video feedthrough jacks (6 VCR connections, 1 VHS-C/HI8 connection) as my out signal from the VCR's. A 2U-24 hole Neutrik D-hole panel with s-video feedthrough jacks for connecting to TBC's, Proc Amps, and Detailers. I use 18" s-video cables for connecting the i/o's of the equipment I want use for a particular tape. I have added a 2U-24 port Keystone panel with feedthrough RCA jacks that connect tyo each VCR's audio. My capture system inputs are on the 1U panel (2 s-video, 1 fire-wire, and 1 HDMI)as well.

I went this route to minimize any possible movement of the equipment. I was terrified after reading several posts about loose/broken s-video connections with their equipment.

The biggest issue I have had so far is finding QUALITY s-video feedthrough jacks. But overall I am happy with the setup and makes life a little easier when working with many different pieces of equipment.

Hope this helps and if you have any questions about the setup please let me know.

Will
Reply With Quote
The following users thank Sergei316 for this useful post: sevarre (07-17-2019)
  #9  
02-03-2019, 04:56 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,477
Thanked 1,392 Times in 1,224 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sergei316 View Post
I decided to build my own s-video patch panel.
I've always found custom/mod projects like this to be neat and interesting.
Please post some pictures when you get time.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
02-03-2019, 05:00 PM
Sergei316 Sergei316 is online now
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 37
Thanked 11 Times in 7 Posts
Sure thing. I will post some pictures when I get home tonight.

Will
Reply With Quote
  #11  
02-03-2019, 07:34 PM
Sergei316 Sergei316 is online now
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 37
Thanked 11 Times in 7 Posts
Here are the photos of the s-video/sound patch panel.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg KIMG0429.jpg (64.7 KB, 27 downloads)
File Type: jpg KIMG0428.jpg (92.2 KB, 23 downloads)
File Type: jpg KIMG0427.jpg (61.7 KB, 17 downloads)
File Type: jpg KIMG0431.JPG (56.1 KB, 15 downloads)
File Type: jpg KIMG0430.JPG (53.2 KB, 17 downloads)
Reply With Quote
The following users thank Sergei316 for this useful post: drzapp (02-05-2019), lordsmurf (02-03-2019), sevarre (07-17-2019), VideoTechMan (07-16-2019)
  #12  
02-04-2019, 04:09 PM
drzapp drzapp is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 54
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sergei316 View Post
I thought about using a s-video switch box for my needs as well. After reading several of LS's posts about not using them I decided to build my own s-video patch panel.

I use a 6U rack with a 1U-12 hole Neutrik D-hole panel with s-video feedthrough jacks (6 VCR connections, 1 VHS-C/HI8 connection) as my out signal from the VCR's. A 2U-24 hole Neutrik D-hole panel with s-video feedthrough jacks for connecting to TBC's, Proc Amps, and Detailers. I use 18" s-video cables for connecting the i/o's of the equipment I want use for a particular tape. I have added a 2U-24 port Keystone panel with feedthrough RCA jacks that connect tyo each VCR's audio. My capture system inputs are on the 1U panel (2 s-video, 1 fire-wire, and 1 HDMI)as well.

I went this route to minimize any possible movement of the equipment. I was terrified after reading several posts about loose/broken s-video connections with their equipment.

The biggest issue I have had so far is finding QUALITY s-video feedthrough jacks. But overall I am happy with the setup and makes life a little easier when working with many different pieces of equipment.

Hope this helps and if you have any questions about the setup please let me know.

Will
Now that is impressive! Where did you get the good s-video jacks- I'm inspired to make one of these (though on a much smaller scale)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
02-04-2019, 05:33 PM
dpalomaki dpalomaki is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 804
Thanked 178 Times in 151 Posts
The simplest, lowest cost, 4:1 S-video source selector switch is something like this.
https://www.amazon.com/Rca-S-Video-S...deo+switch+box
This is but one of many makes/models/brands.
Are they any good? OK for casual viewing, but they can be prone to cross talk and impedance variation issues (reflections/ghosts) depending on configuration if you application is critical.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
02-04-2019, 06:53 PM
Sergei316 Sergei316 is online now
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 37
Thanked 11 Times in 7 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpalomaki View Post
The simplest, lowest cost, 4:1 S-video source selector switch is something like this.
https://www.amazon.com/Rca-S-Video-S...deo+switch+box
This is but one of many makes/models/brands.
Are they any good? OK for casual viewing, but they can be prone to cross talk and impedance variation issues (reflections/ghosts) depending on configuration if you application is critical.
I looked at this model and was tempted to give a try but talked myself out of it because of the issues that you and LS described.

The feedthrough jacks seem to be the best option.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
02-04-2019, 07:45 PM
Sergei316 Sergei316 is online now
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 37
Thanked 11 Times in 7 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by drzapp View Post
Now that is impressive! Where did you get the good s-video jacks- I'm inspired to make one of these (though on a much smaller scale)
Thanks!!

There are several options for svideo jacks.

Neutrik D-Hole Panel Jacks:
TechNec SV-4BCM -- Pretty good quailty, very hard to find, should use round ended svideo cables
TechNec SV4-BLCM/ND -- Excellent quality, more expensive
CalRad Electronics 35-498BH -- Excellent quality, more expensive, must drill a blank 1U plate with 1/2 bit
Switchcraft EHSVHS2B -- Excellent quality, very expensive

Keystone Hole Jacks
You can find them anywhere. eBay has them 10 for $7 with free shipping. Quality on them is OK. The problem is that some cable fit tight into the jack and some are loose. It all depends on the jack. The other issue with the keystone svideo jacks is the position of the svideo jack itself in the jack holder. Some are turned left, some a turned right, some are turned upside down and that drove me nuts trying to swap cables. I tried to straighten them out by unscrewing them from the keystone jack and re-positioning them but it was tedious and very frustrating getting them straight. I bought blank Neutrik plates and drilled my own holes to mount the jacks the way I wanted.

I like the Neutrik style jacks the best. They are all better quality then the keystone jacks.

I am still testing with different jacks and cables to find a setup that I feel will withstand plugging and unplugging cables many times in a capture session. Bottom line is I dont not have to touch any of the electronics jacks again unless a main cable goes bad.

The most cost effective way is the Keystone Jacks and Panels.

Hope that helps.

Will
Reply With Quote
The following users thank Sergei316 for this useful post: drzapp (02-05-2019), ofesad (07-17-2019)
  #16  
07-16-2019, 11:26 AM
VideoTechMan VideoTechMan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 162
Thanked 22 Times in 19 Posts
I know this post is several months old, but recently I have acquired the Extron matrix video switchers....the ones I have are 8x4 and use all BNC connections, but I found them useful to use like a patch panel to connect several decks to one unit. I gotten the S-Video to BNC-Y adapters to be able to connect those decks to the switcher as well. My quick test of them showed to work pretty well with no interference from other signals that I can see.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
07-16-2019, 02:08 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,477
Thanked 1,392 Times in 1,224 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by VideoTechMan View Post
I have acquired the Extron matrix video switchers...
Watch for random interference noise and random blackouts/dropouts. I experienced that with an Extron. It can be easy to miss when merely scrubbing video, must go frame by frame. I think it's source-based. I could never peg down a reason on it. Just passing along some observations, hopefully you don't experience the same.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
07-27-2019, 01:48 PM
Robinthehood Robinthehood is offline
Invalid Email / Banned / Spammer
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have a JVC JX S777 and I don't see any noticeable loss of quality
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For sale: AVT-8120 TBC/splitter cheap! [SOLD] lordsmurf Marketplace 0 01-16-2018 04:04 PM
Video capture card recommendations? wbleigh Capture, Record, Transfer 3 04-14-2017 10:54 PM
CPU/chipset recommendations for HD video work? VideoTechMan Computers 15 06-08-2016 08:32 AM
DVI KVM switch recommendations? VideoTechMan Computers 2 03-02-2016 04:20 AM
Video camera recommendations, for 2009 and later? Theresa Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 4 05-30-2009 01:41 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 PM