digitalFAQ.com Forum

digitalFAQ.com Forum (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/)
-   Capture, Record, Transfer (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-capture/)
-   -   Capture VHS to digital cropped? (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-capture/9433-capture-vhs-digital.html)

Brandonrowe14 02-09-2019 02:41 PM

Capture VHS to digital cropped?

2 Attachment(s)
Hello,

I'm working on a project to convert around 25 hours worth of family footage from VHS to digital. I bought a VC500Mac and am using the VideoGlide Capture software. The image that I am getting looks pretty good, but I seem to be losing a small portion of the left and right sides of the video? This isn't the worst thing, but I'd like to create as perfect replicates as I possibly can.

I looked at the threads stickied on this section and suspect this has something to do with overscanning? I'm totally new to this detailed level of video conversion so I apologize if I'm missing something very obvious.

For comparison, I've attached a picture of the image directly from my TV and a screengrab of the capture below. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

forknor 02-09-2019 03:13 PM

Overscan

If you look at the image itself on the TV vs in your capture, you can see that the content is equivalent, but is just:

- slightly stretched horizontally on the TV
- has the black bars removed on the TV

These black bars are trimmed on the TV due to overscan (the analog signal includes blank areas under the assumption that TVs all only display a portion of the image)

The stretching on the TV is either just a setting of the TV (stretching to fill it's screen), or may be the TV taking the display aspect ratio/pixel aspect ratio into account (analog sources do not typically use square pixels).

Brandonrowe14 02-09-2019 03:20 PM

I still think it's cropping some of the content

2 Attachment(s)