Quantcast Capture VHS to Digital Cropped? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
02-09-2019, 02:41 PM
Brandonrowe14 Brandonrowe14 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hello,

I'm working on a project to convert around 25 hours worth of family footage from VHS to digital. I bought a VC500Mac and am using the VideoGlide Capture software. The image that I am getting looks pretty good, but I seem to be losing a small portion of the left and right sides of the video? This isn't the worst thing, but I'd like to create as perfect replicates as I possibly can.

I looked at the threads stickied on this section and suspect this has something to do with overscanning? I'm totally new to this detailed level of video conversion so I apologize if I'm missing something very obvious.

For comparison, I've attached a picture of the image directly from my TV and a screengrab of the capture below. Any help would be greatly appreciated.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg Z. Screen Capture.jpg (42.9 KB, 10 downloads)
File Type: jpg Z. TV Photo.jpg (55.0 KB, 8 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
02-09-2019, 03:13 PM
forknor forknor is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If you look at the image itself on the TV vs in your capture, you can see that the content is equivalent, but is just:

- slightly stretched horizontally on the TV
- has the black bars removed on the TV

These black bars are trimmed on the TV due to overscan (the analog signal includes blank areas under the assumption that TVs all only display a portion of the image)

The stretching on the TV is either just a setting of the TV (stretching to fill it's screen), or may be the TV taking the display aspect ratio/pixel aspect ratio into account (analog sources do not typically use square pixels).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
02-09-2019, 03:20 PM
Brandonrowe14 Brandonrowe14 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks forknor. I see that the image is stretched on the TV, but I also believe some of the image is missing on the capture. I've attached two images that point out the detail in the right side of the image. If you look at the content in the circle of the TV photo, you'll notice that it is completely absent from the capture image. Should I be capturing at a different aspect ratio? As far as I know, this is just a normal VHS.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg Z. Screen Capture.jpg (43.8 KB, 4 downloads)
File Type: jpg Z. TV Photo.jpg (56.2 KB, 4 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
02-09-2019, 05:28 PM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 3,233
Thanked 977 Times in 831 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandonrowe14 View Post
Thanks forknor. I see that the image is stretched on the TV, but I also believe some of the image is missing on the capture.
The aspect ratio in the screen capture displays the correct Display Aspect Ratio. But the TV image is stretched. Is your TV really sub-par or just not smart enough to display aspect ratios correctly? I'd buy a better tv. BTW, images do not have overscan. Overscan is a property of display panels, not of images. Today's HDTVs employ overscan edge masking by default. If your TV does not allow defeating overscan thru its remote, get a better tv.

The bottom border noise is head-switching noise. It's common with VHS. There might also be thinner or thicker side borders depending on the player or the capture device; ordinarily, SMPTE and other tape standards use only the central 704 pixels of a captured 720-pixel wide image. If you're capturing to square-pixel, you'll see a commensurate amount of side border in the resulting image. How borders are treated is discussed and illustrated in several hundred threads in this forum. In Avisynth and VirtualDub, unwanted border material is removed after denoising and color correction, then replaced with new border pixels that preserve the original frame content (How to Properly Crop the Overscan in VirtualDub [GUIDE]). Overmasking actual image content and/or resizing to fill the frame (and thus altering the DAR) is characteristic of beginners.


Your posted images indicate invalid digital video levels in your capture, or else your displays are in serious need of calibration.

If you want a true image of what a video frame actually looks like, unaltered, select a frame in VirtualDub, copy it to the clipboard, and use anything you want to make an image for posting. Frame captures can be saved in Windows Paint or similar apps as jpg or png.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
02-09-2019, 06:06 PM
Brandonrowe14 Brandonrowe14 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks sanlyn! My TV is actually brand new. It's a smart LGTV that I purchased about 2 months ago.

Even though the display from the VHS to the TV is a little stretched, I'm not terribly concerned with the VHS to TV display because I'd like to eliminate the VHS player after converting the tapes to digital.

Thanks for clearing up the overscan issue. Since the TV is displaying the complete image, I don't think that's a problem for me.

I'm still unclear as to why the VHS to Mac capture is cropping the image down ever so slightly?


Quote:
Originally Posted by sanlyn View Post
The aspect ratio in the screen capture displays the correct Display Aspect Ratio. But the TV image is stretched. Is your TV really sub-par or just not smart enough to display aspect ratios correctly? I'd buy a better tv. BTW, images do not have overscan. Overscan is a property of display panels, not of images. Today's HDTVs employ overscan edge masking by default. If your TV does not allow defeating overscan thru its remote, get a better tv.

The bottom border noise is head-switching noise. It's common with VHS. There might also be thinner or thicker side borders depending on the player or the capture device; ordinarily, SMPTE and other tape standards use only the central 704 pixels of a captured 720-pixel wide image. If you're capturing to square-pixel, you'll see a commensurate amount of side border in the resulting image. How borders are treated is discussed and illustrated in several hundred threads in this forum. In Avisynth and VirtualDub, unwanted border material is removed after denoising and color correction, then replaced with new border pixels that preserve the original frame content (How to Properly Crop the Overscan in VirtualDub [GUIDE]). Overmasking actual image content and/or resizing to fill the frame (and thus altering the DAR) is characteristic of beginners.


Your posted images indicate invalid digital video levels in your capture, or else your displays are in serious need of calibration.

If you want a true image of what a video frame actually looks like, unaltered, select a frame in VirtualDub, copy it to the clipboard, and use anything you want to make an image for posting. Frame captures can be saved in Windows Paint or similar apps as jpg or png.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
02-09-2019, 07:53 PM
hodgey hodgey is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 307
Thanked 84 Times in 70 Posts
It could be some settings in VideoGlide. I don't remember if VideoGlide has crop settings, though at least in my screenshots of it in an older thread it doesn't crop the image. I can have a look into it once I have the time.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Properly cropped video, what to encode to? drzapp Edit Video, Audio 4 12-09-2018 08:03 PM
Best way to capture VHS to digital on Mac/FCPx? sibealhill Capture, Record, Transfer 3 02-25-2016 06:10 PM
Does cropped video force re-encode for DVD? GreenAcres Capture, Record, Transfer 4 07-25-2014 03:49 AM
Acutal size with "record cropped video" ? jlietz Capture, Record, Transfer 3 03-03-2005 11:41 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 AM