Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
11-09-2020, 08:47 AM
Free Member

Hi, this is my first time posting. Hopefully in the right forum. I have been trying for the past week (about 60 hours so far) with different setups, Windows XP versions, Driver versions, Software versions, reading forums everywhere and am not getting anywhere.

I have the following hardware:
Gigabyte P55A-UDP4 motherboard, 4Gb RAM, 2 Tb HDD
XFX Radeon HD 6950 video card
ATI TV Wonder Elite Remote Control Edition PCI card NTSC 100-703205 (purchased from Amazon two weeks ago)
Canon ES600 8mm camcorder
Windows XP Pro SP2 32 bit, registered version
Tried many versions of the ATI drivers, CCC andd MMC

When I load it all up (new install of WinXP and different drivers each time) the following happens:

1. Launch Windows Movie Maker
2. Click "Capture Video"
3. Hourglass comes up and nothing happens (left it for 5 minutes or more). WMM must be closed via Task Manager as it is not responding

or

1. Launch VirtualDub.exe (build 44282/release)
2. Click"Capture AVI
3. Top menu bar changes to capture mode [] with appropriate menus
4. When I click on any of the menu options, the program window turns white and program stops responding
5. VirtualDub can be closed by X at top right

I am quite knowledgeable in computers software and hardware generally. Have built and repaired many PC's and written and fixed many types of software programming.

Is my hardware fighting each other or am I missing something? Are versions of software not compatible with each other?

-- merged --

An additional thought on this. Does it make a difference what order the drivers are installed in?
I have been installing all motherboard and video card drivers. Should I install only select drivers?

-- merged --