02-28-2019, 09:12 PM
Free Member

First time, long time. Lurker no more!

What should I look for, when building a capture rig? I've never built a PC before, and I'm pretty steeped in the Mac ecosystem.

Are there any beginners mistakes I should avoid? If I buy components separately, do I need to source an older case?

Current/relevant hardware:

JVC HR-S9800U
ATI AIW 9800 Pro
RCA LDR400
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

03-01-2019, 08:01 AM
Premium Member

Well I'm no wiz kid with PC internals but essentially accomplished my first complete rebuild for my capture PC; just finished a few weeks ago. Others more experienced will add to/revise this info.

You can reuse an old PC. I had an old Pentium III Windows XP Gateway collecting dust and started out thinking to reuse it and just add an ATI AIW card. It started going downhill when I messed the BIOS up trying an update. Just as well. The single core Pentium did not have enough Umph anyway. I did reuse the case but replaced everthing inside.

1. You need a motherboard with PCI slots for the sound card, and an AGP slot for the AIW video card. Those boards have not been made for some years now. You see them sold used in the usual places and once in a while a gem like this pops up new: https://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/775i65G%20R3.0/
The AsRock has the required card slots but also both IDE and SATA hard drive sockets. The BIOS will also permit use of larger GB SATA drives (up to 2 GB anyway). You can use an old PC case or a new one from Newegg, etc., which provides for more ventilation capability. The AsRock board mentioned is of the Micro ATX size.

2. Preferably a dual core CPU w/ appropriate cooling
3. The AIW card/SW
4. Separate sound card like Turtle Beach Santa Cruz or Soundblaster, which work with Windows XP. The TB Santa Cruz is well liked with the AIW cards. You'll need an internal cable for AIW and sound card to talk to each other.
5. Windows XP, SP2 - required to run the AIW card/SW and sound card with SW