Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
11-05-2023, 05:52 AM
Free Member

Hello, I've just discovered this forum, so I'm sure you can help me.

I'd like to digitize all my family memories, and I studied a lot to do the best I can.
I have a LG w904p as VCR, and Blackmagic Intensity Pro (not 4k).

1) My VCR only has a SCART output, so I'd like to know if it's better to use an adapter to S-Video, or if there's a way to use the RGB signal SCART port should be able to provide.

2) Do I really need an ES10/15 as TBC passthrough? I watched some sample on Youtube, but it seems to flat the colors. Do you have some tips or link to past conversation to answer my doubts?

3) What program do you suggest to use QTGMC? Everyone looks so complicated. I tried this easy solution https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/...-QTGMC-Easy%21, but it seems to make faces slightly more yellow.

Thank you so much
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

11-05-2023, 06:27 AM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,458 Times in 2,090 Posts
Those Blackmagic cards are awful with SD sources, being made for HD. SD was a lousy afterthought feature, and BM even admits this. They themselves state that TBCs must be used. But even with TBC, it's an overpriced wrong tool for the task. But at least with a TBC, it functions (just not great, both in quality or usage).

The ES10/15 is really a minimalist item, with strong+crippled line TBC, and non-TBC frame sync. There will still be errors, and a quality drop, but nothing as nasty as no TBCs whatsoever.

That low-end LG VCR combo unit will not help matters. So again, ES10/15 is really a minimum requirement for the work to not completely suck. Not to be great, or good, just "not suck".