Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
02-27-2022, 09:31 AM
Free Member

Hello,
I am pretty new to this stuff but I really like to use late 90s or early 00s stuff. I do shoot basic stuff for fun on my Panasonic NV-VS4EG(svhs). My target is to get decent digital video that can be used on social media or sent to friends on internet. Camera has cinch + svideo and digital still picture but I dont really know if it can be used anymore.
I would like to keep my budget to the lows since its one of my hunderts hobbies, these cameras are here in Europe worth less then 30$
I also have NV-FS88 VCR and few 00s thinkpads that could be used at this project. I have ezcap 271, but I know I will get burned for this here, but thats not the "quality" I am looking for.
I have read some 2010ish topic and that this kind of fun can be really expensive, but I was thinking that we are again 10 years further and things could be done easier?
Thanks for all answers and have nice day.

Attached Images
File Type: png vlcsnap-2022-02-27-16h30m28s950.png (229.3 KB, 23 downloads)
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

02-27-2022, 11:08 AM
Free Member

VHS is VHS nothing has changed or will in terms of how video is captured, That's why newer OS's are not favorable of doing such legacy tasks, You can get away with OS and drivers problems by using USB 3.0, PCIe, SDI but those are expensive workflows not your average easycrap, Another way of doing it on a budget is to find a capture card from 2010's using Windows 7 machine. That video still frame looks horrible by the way.

https://www.youtube.com/@Capturing-Memories/videos
02-27-2022, 08:40 PM
Premium Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by sekicz View Post
I have read some 2010ish topic and that this kind of fun can be really expensive, but I was thinking that we are again 10 years further and things could be done easier?