Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
07-13-2019, 11:53 PM
Free Member

I am a newbie to video capture, and I've been trying many things.

So this may not come as anything "new" to people who have traveled this path before.

There are good capture cards, and bad capture cards.

There are recommended capture cards, and capture cards to be avoided.

And there are AGP, PCI, PCIe, USB2, USB3, and Firewire capture cards and devices.

But one thing almost universal is that there are Uncompressed and Compressed capture cards and devices.

Uncompressed produce large files that take up a of disc space, but offer the best capture resolution and least chance for lip sync error.

Compressed produce much smaller files, with a loss of some kind and are more prone to lip sync error.

Compressed cards depend on hardware compression on the card, or software compression on the PC after the uncompressed stream is brought to the PC and before its written to disc.

VirtualDub does best with Uncompressed cards and devices because there are fewer variables to work out getting from the video capture to the disc file. And frankly that is what it was designed to work with.

VirtualDub much later received support from Avery Lee for one particular MPEG hardware compression capture system from Plextor called the M402U compression system. But it wasn't perfect.

Many types of capture software attempt to work with hardware compression systems both hardware and software, but they vary so much its mostly a headache to try to use anything other than the Third Party software that was bundled with the hardware capture video card.

I've been dabbling with the Microsoft DirectShow SDK and Microsoft Windows SDK that contained the GraphEdit prototyping tool for programmers. I made a discovery.