Quantcast Audio signal as video input? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
07-27-2019, 06:31 AM
renzooh renzooh is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi all,

Maybe this might sound like a strange question, but does anybody have any experience with using audio as a video input?

I have been doing this with analogue TV's by using a strong audio signal into the AV input, and the result is beautiful distorted images. Higher frequencies produce thinner lines and lower freqs produce bigger/wider stripes. I have been using this for an audio visual art project if you are curious about why.

Me and my colleague own a Datavideo TBC-4000, which makes it possible to send these images to a video projector. By simply feeding the TBC with the audio signal and taking the output to the projector.

But, i have not managed to do the same with any other equipment. I have tried to do it with a video mixer connected to a LED TV and feeding the mixer (edirol, which is supposed to have a build in TBC), but it doesn't work. I have tried to do it with a DMR-ES10 DVD recorder. But didn't work.

I have tried to find another Datavideo TBC online, but they are very rare and generally unaffordable.

I am looking to find a relatively cheap solution to add to our TBC-4000 setup, and have more inputs and outputs to video projectors and or LED TVs. Any ideas? Thank you!

Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
07-27-2019, 11:12 AM
latreche34 latreche34 is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 981
Thanked 130 Times in 123 Posts
Audio signal itself doesn't carry sync signal for a stand alone video projector to display a stable frame, that's why you need a frame sync device or a genlock signal, An external TBC has a frame sync option that's why it worked, Just look for a video mixer or one of those old rack mounted studio TBC devices. I will be listing a BE75 online if you are interested it has a frame sync and can accept a genlock signal from another video source.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
07-28-2019, 04:43 AM
renzooh renzooh is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thank you for answering.
I have tried it with a video mixer (Edirol V-4), but it didn't work.
"one of those old rack mounted studio TBC devices"
This might be an option indeed. I will see if i can find some cheaper one to try it out with.
I will be listing a BE75 online if you are interested it has a frame sync and can accept a genlock signal from another video source. That sounds interesting if you think this might do the trick, but i think i won't be able to afford that actually.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
07-28-2019, 05:05 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,787
Thanked 1,667 Times in 1,448 Posts
Perhaps with a DataVideo or Cypress distribution amp?
I've seen those sell for as low as $25 to $50 in past months.
The DataVideo model if the VP-299.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
07-28-2019, 12:55 PM
renzooh renzooh is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi Lordsmurf,
I will definitely look into that. If that would work it would be a great solution in my budget!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
08-27-2019, 02:48 PM
renzooh renzooh is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
found a VP-299, but it didn't do the trick...
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
tbc, time base corrector

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to enable s-video input on Pinnacle 510-USB? ELinder Capture, Record, Transfer 40 02-01-2020 03:20 PM
Any good video input selector hardware for CAPTURE? nicholasserra Capture, Record, Transfer 1 12-18-2018 06:00 PM
All of a sudden, I get no video signal? jobeis Capture, Record, Transfer 2 01-09-2017 02:11 PM
Mixer to boost audio signal from VCR, when capturing VHS tapes ? Mejnour Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 15 02-08-2012 10:34 AM
Do I lose PQ advantage switching signal from s-video to RCA in signal path ? Mejnour Project Planning, Workflows 4 02-01-2012 05:12 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 PM