Quantcast JVC DR M10-Dvd Recorder PROBLEMS! - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
12-26-2006, 04:09 AM
MagnificentMarcus MagnificentMarcus is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , Washington, USA.
Posts: 283
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
As of late I've been having problems with my JVC DR M10-Dvd Recorder. It will just start saying that it is loading. It will be flashing this message and you can't get it to stop or do anything else. It also mucks up the recording.

I 've heard several people mention this problem in the past, but for the life of me can't remember what they did to resolve it. Any ideas????
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
12-26-2006, 06:35 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,917
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
Is it in POWER SAVE mode? Look for that option in the settings.
What discs are you using in the machine? I suggest VERBATIM DVD-R 1x-16x discs.

Remember that "LOADING" is a generic error message and could mean pretty much anything. It could jsut as well say "ERROR" and have the same effect. It's usually a problem with blank media, though on older JVC models it could mean it's overheating.



- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
12-26-2006, 06:41 AM
MagnificentMarcus MagnificentMarcus is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , Washington, USA.
Posts: 283
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Verbatim RW-Rs discs is what I use. Power save mode, is that on the machine or do I have to access that via remote menu?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
12-26-2006, 08:35 AM
MagnificentMarcus MagnificentMarcus is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , Washington, USA.
Posts: 283
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
I have the Power Save off. Is that supposed to be on?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
12-26-2006, 01:24 PM
markatisu markatisu is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 202
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Yeah it depends what is going on before the LOADING issue comes up. On mine its because the thing is overheating, but there are a few other reasons.

JVC has been repairing them still even if they are out of warranty so if you can get it fixed a phone call to them might not hurt.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
01-01-2007, 11:08 PM
allaboutduncan allaboutduncan is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 200
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mine does this too and I've been too lazy to get it repaired. Just unplug it when not in use and it will solve the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
01-02-2007, 06:53 PM
MagnificentMarcus MagnificentMarcus is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , Washington, USA.
Posts: 283
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Phillip, are you saying that you keep it unplugged all the time till you need to use it????????? And that works????
Reply With Quote
  #8  
01-13-2007, 06:03 PM
MagnificentMarcus MagnificentMarcus is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , Washington, USA.
Posts: 283
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Phillip???
Reply With Quote
  #9  
01-13-2007, 07:28 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,917
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
I think he is, yes.

I only use my DR-M100S for timer recordings (2nd gen machine), not my DR-M10S (1st gen machine, with the 'LOADING' issue possible, with power save mode set correct).


- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #10  
01-14-2007, 04:43 AM
markatisu markatisu is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 202
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Yeah I do the same thing, unplug it after using it and then plug it back in and it works everytime

Like Phillip I am too lazy to send it in
Reply With Quote
  #11  
01-14-2007, 07:44 AM
cp32 cp32 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 255
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Reply With Quote
  #12  
01-23-2007, 12:57 PM
MagnificentMarcus MagnificentMarcus is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , Washington, USA.
Posts: 283
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Ok, I've let the machine sit for a week and turned it on. It did the loading issue for about 5 minutes then went back to normal. I set the time I wanted it to record, shut it off and it did as programmed- Heoroes! I finalized it and edited.

My question is will it do this everytime I turn it on and off by unplugging it???
Reply With Quote
  #13  
01-23-2007, 01:10 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,917
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
When it is unplugged for a while, it runs internal tests for about 2-3 minutes, and it shows a generic error message during this time or just flashes the blue LEDs. I don't know about 5 full minutes, that sounds a tad long.


- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #14  
01-23-2007, 02:33 PM
MagnificentMarcus MagnificentMarcus is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , Washington, USA.
Posts: 283
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
It could have been 3 minutes. It just keep saying loading, which was the same problem I had before. I wish I could find a JVC service centre around Olympia, WA.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
05-18-2007, 01:35 PM
MagnificentMarcus MagnificentMarcus is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , Washington, USA.
Posts: 283
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Well guys, I just got back my JVC DR M10 back from the JVC service center. I have yet to try it out. I did have something strange happen. I got a automated message from UPS Wednesday saying I would be receiving a delivery from Panasonic that need to be signed for. Does Panasonic own JVC???

Also, does the fix that JVC does to this DVD recorder stick or will this loading problem come back after a while.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
05-18-2007, 02:01 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,917
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
Matsushiita Electric Industrial Co., Ltd. is a Japanese corporation that owns Panasonic and JVC, as well as a few smaller firms. Panasonic has always been their "everybody" company, with products ranging from Joe Sixpack (home DVD recorders, VCRs) to Hollywood equipment (Panavision cameras). JVC has always been the hobbyist/home/prosumer and professional video company, and they developed both the VHS and S-VHS formats. Some of their other holdings deal with audio and patent holders.

They operate independently, which is why you Panasonic DVD recorders are crappy (compared to high quality JVC quality), or a Panasonic DV camera is so nice (while a JVC is maybe so-so).

The service centers are probably joint operations.


- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #17  
05-19-2007, 01:25 AM
MagnificentMarcus MagnificentMarcus is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , Washington, USA.
Posts: 283
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Is this supposed fix they did, permanent??
Reply With Quote
  #18  
05-19-2007, 05:13 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,917
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
Should be. Loading was a byproduct of faulty Chinese resistors (many products had this problem, such as certain AMD motherboards a few years back). When repaired, they used next-generation ones.


- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Toshiba (DRW2) DVD Recorder * Good or Bad Recorder Pepeart Capture, Record, Transfer 4 09-20-2006 03:12 AM
Having problems with lite on dvd recorder ty3 Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 2 08-16-2006 12:27 AM
JVC DR M10 DVD recorder problems!! MagnificentMarcus Blank Media 7 01-10-2006 03:49 PM
DVD Recorder, recording problems... help!? emokid Capture, Record, Transfer 11 06-15-2005 05:00 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 AM