Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
09-19-2019, 08:45 AM
Free Member

Hi all,

I have a Youtube channel that has a solid fan base, people that I don't want to let down. I've been putting artistic videos on it since 2007. I record my videos using an analog (hi8 PAL) Sony camcorder. I do not use tape, I only use the lens to be the transmitter of the image, so to speak. The camcorder comes with a yellow RCA composite video output. I connect it to my Windows XP computer via a Conexant chip-based capture card (Leadtek Winfast TV2000 XP). For software I use VirtualDub and I capture the incoming video with the resolution of 352x288 @ 25 fps, although I might use 704x576 or 720x576 too. Everything works flawlessly. I save my video files as AVI on my hard drive. I rescale / render these videos in Sony Vegas up to HD resolution so that the viewing experience is correct on Youtube. This might seem like an odd way of doing things, but this meticulous procedure ensures that my videos stand out and retain their originality in today's ultra-perfect boring state-of-the-art content. The edges are softer and it looks as if it was shot on film, etc, etc.

Alas, I need to buy a new PC, as the one I use for my video work is 12 years old and dying. This means I will no longer be able to use my capture card, as it is a PCI-slot device. So what shall I do? Well, I think I need something for PCI-express. That's why I'm thinking about buying Blackmagic Design's one of the three:

Blackmagic DeckLink Mini Recorder
Blackmagic DeckLink Mini Recorder 4K
Blackmagic Intensity Pro 4K

I have many questions and apprehensions, but I'll try these three:

Will these products enable me to retain my entire procedure of doing things, especially the capture resolutions and format?

If not, what is the modern way of capturing video from analog devices into your PC as AVI files?