Quantcast How to make a DVD montage - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
02-02-2008, 08:23 PM
mehrdad mehrdad is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
How would I go about accomplishing the following:
1. Insert a DVD in my computer's drive
2. rip several scenes of the movie as seperate files
3. Take out unwanted portions of each scene
4. burn the resulting files to a DVD-R disc so it can
be played on any DVD player

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
02-03-2008, 01:07 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,338
Thanked 616 Times in 448 Posts
Do you have a budget where you're willing to buy new software, or must this be accomplished completely with freeware?

What software do you already own or otherwise have available to use on your computer?

My thought process is as such (rough notes):
- DVD Decrypter to extract video (free)
- Womble MPEG Video Wizard or another Womble product to edit, maybe even author the new disc (MPEGVCR or MVW-DVD). ($35-100, depends on the one product). Trials may be fully functional, would need to check.
- MPEG Streamclip (free), as an alternatve to Womble, but not as friendly or easy to work with
- Authoring software, if not using Womble MVW-DVD, and again have some choices between free and not-so-easy and cheap-and-easy (TDA, SVCD2DVD -- $39-90 range). More advanced ones are also available for higher cost. Some of these may even have fully-functional trials that would get you through a single project for free (30 days after install is all you'd have), and I can check on those.

Once we figure out what software to use, based entirely on your budget, I'll go over the finer points of accomplishing this task with easy-to-follow instructions.

Welcome to the site, thanks for joining.



- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
02-04-2008, 07:22 PM
mehrdad mehrdad is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for the response. My main objective is to get everything done with the most user friendly and the least glitchy software(s) as possible.

To that end I am willing to spend up to $150. At this time I don't have a lot of related software on my computer. So lets start from scratch using the above criteria. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
02-10-2008, 04:39 PM
mehrdad mehrdad is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It has been 5 or 6 days since I posted last. Did I answer all your questions? Have you had a chance to look at my posting? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
02-10-2008, 07:27 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,338
Thanked 616 Times in 448 Posts
Are these commercial DVDs, or homemade DVDs off a DVD recorder? They have different needs, must plan for this with the software chosen and the instructions given.


- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
02-15-2008, 07:16 PM
mehrdad mehrdad is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
There are going to be commercial DVDs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
02-23-2008, 11:32 AM
mehrdad mehrdad is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Are there any other considerations or questions before you can give me some instrucitons?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
02-23-2008, 12:35 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,338
Thanked 616 Times in 448 Posts
No, I've been testing 3 different methods for you. If you're going to spend money based off my advice, I want to be 100% sure that it's going to work with the most current versions available (there have been a lots of software upgrades released in the past 2-3 months for a lot of programs -- sometimes changing and removing features).

I should have a final list of suggestions and instructions for you within the next 72 hours (no later than midnight Monday).


- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
02-26-2008, 11:20 PM
mehrdad mehrdad is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I appreciate all your efforts. If takes a few extra days to come up with the right combination, then it is time well spent. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
02-27-2008, 06:04 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,338
Thanked 616 Times in 448 Posts
One more question. What processor does your computer have? Or is it a brand new computer (within 1-2 years old). Some of the software I'm using requires a CPU with SSE2 features, meaning an Intel or an AMD64 (no Athlon XPs allowed). Let me know so I can further drill down what you'll want to do.


- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
02-28-2008, 08:59 PM
mehrdad mehrdad is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My laptop is a DELL Inspiron with Intel Pentium M processor 1.6GHZ running XP Service Pack 2.

My desktop is a newer computer with AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3600+ 1.9GHZ, and it runs on VISTA which may or may not be a problem. I am sure you know better about that.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
03-05-2008, 11:19 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,338
Thanked 616 Times in 448 Posts
Download Adobe Premiere Elements 4 trial version and install it. Let me know when that's done.

http://www.adobe.com/products/premiereel/


- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
03-16-2008, 01:54 PM
mehrdad mehrdad is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi. Before I get started let me ask a question. Based on my last post about my laptop and desktop, do you forsee any advantages or problems using one or the other as the platform for this job?

They both have DVD rewritable drive. As I mentioned I tend to have my doubts about VISTA. Although it is supposed to be good with multimedia applications.

To make a long story short, if you were deciding between these computers, which one would you pick?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
03-16-2008, 11:26 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,338
Thanked 616 Times in 448 Posts
Personally, I prefer the XP operating system. But given the software being used for this task of creating a montage, either OS should work fine. You may want to install these demos on BOTH systems, and try it in each place, to see which location works better -- and they might work equally well.

Just download the Adobe Premiere Elements ONCE -- it's about 3GB file download, huge by most standards, will take several hours one day. Burn it to a disc to share with the other computer. If you're unsure how to burn a data disc, ask.


- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
04-21-2008, 11:03 PM
mehrdad mehrdad is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yes i agree with the XP as the main pc for this job. I'll download the Adobe software and report back.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
04-21-2008, 11:06 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,338
Thanked 616 Times in 448 Posts
My test machine where I had installed Premiere Elements 3 for your test is the one that bit the dust recently. Hopefully I'll have it back up before you're ready for the next phase of this lesson. It's not been too cooperative so far, but I've not given up yet.


- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
04-26-2008, 01:51 PM
mehrdad mehrdad is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have looked for the Adobe Premiere Elements downloads but I have only been able to locate trial versions and others for purchase at $99

Also the file sizes are nowhere near 3 gigs. I guess I should ask what you had in mind when you said to download it.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
05-13-2008, 10:30 PM
mehrdad mehrdad is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi. haven't heard from you in a couple of weeks. Everything ok?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
06-16-2008, 09:41 AM
mehrdad mehrdad is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi there. I've beem real busy lately and haven't check this for about a month and it seems like there is no new activity.

Can you please post a reply and let me know if you are still receiving these messages? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
06-19-2008, 03:04 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,338
Thanked 616 Times in 448 Posts
The forum will be upgraded here in the next two weeks, and at that time I'll have to re-look at the posts, and then resume finishing all answers. Hopefully that'll be okay with everybody.

One of those necessary downtimes.


- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to make homemade CD cover? MuseOfNet Blank Media 1 08-27-2009 01:03 AM
Can someone make a Widescreen PSD Overscan? Konfusion Author, Make Menus, Slideshows, Burn 7 06-15-2009 07:25 AM
How NOT to make a menu markatisu Author, Make Menus, Slideshows, Burn 5 09-03-2007 03:28 PM
How to make bad DVD copies lordsmurf Copy DVDs, Duplicate, Replicate 1 01-04-2006 11:58 AM
Will I have to make adjustments daMaddColombian Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 1 08-08-2005 04:28 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 AM