Quantcast Capture interlaced, but how to to keep video interlaced when making DVDs? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Encode, Convert for discs

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
12-14-2013, 03:16 PM
premiumcapture premiumcapture is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 585
Thanked 70 Times in 64 Posts
Haven't done this before, not sure if its automatic or if it will fall off when I make DVDs or Blu-Rays
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
12-14-2013, 05:44 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,761
Thanked 2,148 Times in 1,848 Posts
Fall off?

Just encode to MPEG as BFF (DV sources) or TFF (everything else), author the BD/DVD without re-encoding, and it will be fine.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
12-14-2013, 05:51 PM
premiumcapture premiumcapture is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 585
Thanked 70 Times in 64 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
Fall off?

Just encode to MPEG as BFF (DV sources) or TFF (everything else), author the BD/DVD without re-encoding, and it will be fine.
Thanks, it should be all TFF then. I didn't really know if certain conversions made reading interlaced lines impossible for the playback hardware.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
12-14-2013, 05:59 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,761
Thanked 2,148 Times in 1,848 Posts
Good encoders should let you specify interlaced vs progressive encoding. What are you using to encode?

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #5  
12-14-2013, 06:01 PM
premiumcapture premiumcapture is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 585
Thanked 70 Times in 64 Posts
I haven't decided yet. I prefer not to deinterlace so I am rummaging the forums to find a good encoder to do this.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
12-14-2013, 06:26 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,761
Thanked 2,148 Times in 1,848 Posts
- Avidemux = free but buggy
- TMPGEnc Plus 2.5 = cheap ($37) but slower to encode
- MainConcept Reference (now TotalCode Studio) = expensive ($500+) but best in the industry.

There's not a lot of choices for MPEG encoders. I use them all, dependig on the computer and the task.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
12-14-2013, 06:41 PM
premiumcapture premiumcapture is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 585
Thanked 70 Times in 64 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
- Avidemux = free but buggy
- TMPGEnc Plus 2.5 = cheap ($37) but slower to encode
- MainConcept Reference (now TotalCode Studio) = expensive ($500+) but best in the industry.

There's not a lot of choices for MPEG encoders. I use them all, dependig on the computer and the task.
Are these all for VirtualDub or do I need Adobe to use them?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
12-14-2013, 06:43 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,761
Thanked 2,148 Times in 1,848 Posts
They're standalone programs.
Adobe Premiere comes with the MainConcept SDK encoder (the "Adobe Media Encoder")
VirtualDub only exports AVI.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #9  
12-20-2013, 01:12 PM
premiumcapture premiumcapture is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 585
Thanked 70 Times in 64 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
They're standalone programs.
Adobe Premiere comes with the MainConcept SDK encoder (the "Adobe Media Encoder")
VirtualDub only exports AVI.
I looked up MainConcept but the max bitrate looks like 16mbits while broadcast quality is actually higher than that (18ish?). What bitrate is a good number for archival? I can save videos up to 20GB each.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
12-20-2013, 02:12 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,761
Thanked 2,148 Times in 1,848 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by premiumcapture View Post
I looked up MainConcept but the max bitrate looks like 16mbits while broadcast quality is actually higher than that (18ish?). What bitrate is a good number for archival? I can save videos up to 20GB each.
Are you using a template? If so, which one?

The MPEG-2 MP@HL is 100 Mbps.
DVD-Video is max 9.8 (or 10.08) Mbps. It doesn't go to 16 anyway
Blu-ray MPEG-2 is 15 Mbps.

So not sure what you're referring to.

mainconcept-100mbit.jpg

Note that video is 1000, not 1024 base.



- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #11  
12-20-2013, 10:06 PM
premiumcapture premiumcapture is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 585
Thanked 70 Times in 64 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
Are you using a template? If so, which one?

The MPEG-2 MP@HL is 100 Mbps.
DVD-Video is max 9.8 (or 10.08) Mbps. It doesn't go to 16 anyway
Blu-ray MPEG-2 is 15 Mbps.

So not sure what you're referring to.

Attachment 3658

Note that video is 1000, not 1024 base.
As always, you are right
Reply With Quote
  #12  
12-21-2013, 03:40 PM
premiumcapture premiumcapture is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 585
Thanked 70 Times in 64 Posts
I ended up not being happy with the quality outside of cartoons with what I was getting. Because my size allowance is so big, I ended up muxing to Lagarith instead for smaller sizes with same quality. I wanted Huffyuv but it was giving me grief.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interlaced video to progressive (double frame rate) metaleonid Edit Video, Audio 23 09-29-2013 09:51 PM
S-VHS PAL interlaced acquisition with Huffyuv Genu29 Capture, Record, Transfer 3 02-01-2012 04:39 AM
Interlaced vs. non-interlaced artifacts? via Email or PM Capture, Record, Transfer 1 04-16-2009 05:37 PM
Making DVDs-software question! MagnificentMarcus Author, Make Menus, Slideshows, Burn 10 09-05-2006 12:17 PM
ARGH!!!!! My Pioneer 109 is making "No Play" DVDs MOTUfan Copy DVDs, Duplicate, Replicate 15 12-15-2005 04:53 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 PM