Quantcast Overscan not hidden over HDMI? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
08-06-2016, 10:18 PM
premiumcapture premiumcapture is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 585
Thanked 70 Times in 64 Posts
With RCA, any TV I have seen outputs a 640x480ish image with at least faux-overscan hiding. Over HDMI, however, no overscan is hidden and everything is shown. Is this common to all HDMI 480i/p connections?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
08-07-2016, 11:49 AM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,323
Thanked 328 Times in 273 Posts
So the question is specifically about sending 480 over HDMI, not pre-upscaled?

It really depends on the TV and how its options are set. My Panasonic TC-55CX850U always crops the left and right edges when the input is 480p and the aspect ratio is set to 4:3. It has an Overscan On/Off function, but it does nothing in this mode. It also has an "H size" option: Size 1 is supposed to be full and Size 2 is supposed to trim the sides a bit. Instead, Size 1 trims a little and Size 2 trims more.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
08-07-2016, 09:00 PM
premiumcapture premiumcapture is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 585
Thanked 70 Times in 64 Posts
Thanks. I had never really played with resizing vs. masking, but I tried a fairly clean VHS crop/resize encode with high bitrate and it looked pretty terrible. Also reaffirms how terrible VHS can look if not handled properly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by msgohan View Post
So the question is specifically about sending 480 over HDMI, not pre-upscaled?

It really depends on the TV and how its options are set. My Panasonic TC-55CX850U always crops the left and right edges when the input is 480p and the aspect ratio is set to 4:3. It has an Overscan On/Off function, but it does nothing in this mode. It also has an "H size" option: Size 1 is supposed to be full and Size 2 is supposed to trim the sides a bit. Instead, Size 1 trims a little and Size 2 trims more.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
08-21-2016, 02:58 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,696
Thanked 2,139 Times in 1,840 Posts
Overscan is very TV-dependent, HDMI or not.

Officially, according to ISO/etc specs, overscan should always be hidden. But as we all know, not all manufacturers obey this, especially the budget TV makers.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Namecheap hosting review - Beware hidden limits in ToS/AUP [UPDATED!] kpmedia Web Hosting 11 11-23-2013 08:25 AM
Cropping overscan from VHS (for DVD) naripeddi Edit Video, Audio 6 03-13-2013 03:17 AM
JVC VCR Interesting Overscan issue Blackout Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 11 05-16-2011 12:46 PM
How to best perform overscan correction? dyfan Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 8 02-27-2010 06:23 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 AM