Quantcast Audio sync problems with Womble MPEG2VCR - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
11-14-2004, 04:54 AM
mlaviolette mlaviolette is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 46
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I thought that I had finally found a good tool to cut commercials from captured shows, but the latest Womble MPEG2VCR generates audio sync problems. They don't appear to be as frequent or as severe as nanoEdit, but are apparent and may be influenced by the number of cuts made. The original captures do not have a sync problem, but the MPEG2VCR files do. I fire up a special partition that has a minimum configuration (no virus software, nic disabled, etc) to do my video work, so I doubt if the problem is caused by external forces.

Have you experienced this, or do you know of a reliable tool to cut out scenes?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
11-14-2004, 12:28 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,333
Thanked 635 Times in 452 Posts
Some MPEG files just reject MPEG-VCR and cause sync drift. The reason is largely a mystery. Personally, I have never seen it. It tends to happen on Hauppauge files mostly. I would suggest two other programs:

1) Womble MPEG Video Wizard (womble.com)
2) Video Redo (videoredo.com)

They both have trials. Both have better results with Hauppauge files according to users.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
11-16-2004, 12:19 PM
mlaviolette mlaviolette is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 46
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I trialed Video Redo and processed 5 2-hour shows captured with my Hauppage PVR 350. I cut out ALL of the commercials and had no sync problems at all. I also used it to easily join segments. I'll definitely be buying it.

Cutting out the commercials reduced the 2-hour original files to 88 minutes, so I was able to increase the max capture bitrate from 6000 to 8000 and generate a result that still fit.

Thanks for the recommendation. - mlaviolette
Reply With Quote
  #4  
10-14-2006, 11:53 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,333
Thanked 635 Times in 452 Posts
I know this update is almost two years later, but I've seen this myself.

Womble does not like it when you try to insert effects, and make cut, and add in footage from other files. What happens is a GOP is repeated somewhere in the video file (usually), often seen with a glitch, and then extra video insertion is the reason the audio loses sync. The audio is actually fine, it was the video that was offset by a second worth of video (15-18 frames in a GOP).

There are also reports of issues when files are longer than 2Ĺ-3 hours, and I saw it myself once about 5 months ago.


- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Womble, just converting the audio to ac3 admin Edit Video, Audio 0 08-31-2010 04:00 AM
Audio synch problems with Womble timeline Reading Bug Edit Video, Audio 27 08-09-2010 12:13 PM
Mpg/Vob audio Gradually goes out of sync Konfusion Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 6 01-13-2008 01:10 AM
Audio-video out of sync, other problems yargellham Capture, Record, Transfer 7 11-20-2005 02:28 PM
Audio editing using Womble MPEG Video Wiz jrnyhead Encode, Convert for discs 3 02-08-2004 12:40 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 AM