Quantcast Video with 29.97fps vs 30fps - audio will not sync? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Edit Video, Audio

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
08-22-2014, 05:10 AM
manthing manthing is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 329
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
i have one video only (ie no audio) source. call it V1.
i have another video and audio source. call it V2 A2.

i want to mux together V1 and A2.
however, they are not in synch.

here are the details for V1:
length 6:38.902, frames 11955
pic 720x480, pics/s 29.970, frames/s 29.970, fields/s 59.940
sar 1.500 (3:2), par 0.889 (8:9), dar 1.333 (4:3)

here are the details for V2 (the audio A2 fits this video):
length 6:41.633, frames 12049
pic 480x360, pic/s 30.000, frames/s 30.000
sar 1.333 (4:3), par <n/a>, dar 1.333 (4:3)

so, i used goldwave's "time warp" function to convert the audio to run to 6:38.902.
call this new audio A3.

however, V1 and A3 are still not in synch.

so my question is: what conversion do i apply to the audio A2 to fit video V1?

thanks.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
08-22-2014, 05:12 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 10,660
Thanked 1,864 Times in 1,613 Posts
Test it first. Deinterlace to 30fps video, force it to 29.97 with either VirtualDub or Avisynth, and then see if the audio will still overlay. If not, then you'll know the videos have different editing cuts in the middle.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: manthing (08-22-2014)
  #3  
08-22-2014, 08:46 AM
manthing manthing is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 329
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
i had to run the videos side by side a number of times before i spotted the issue. it was tricky to find. there seems to be a missing second or two of video in V1.

i can cut the audio A2 to fit V1 if need be.
i'm trying to find a proper version of video V1 ie without the missing bit.
unfortunately, i cannot use V2 video as it is horrible quality and would jar if it was put into V1.

anyway, that is my problem.

as far as this thread is concerned... it is case closed!

thank you for your help.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where is audio/video sync data located in video files? merchantord Edit Video, Audio 5 07-26-2014 11:52 PM
Audio sync and video delay with TBCs Bertrandes General Discussion 12 06-23-2013 02:24 AM
Capturing VHS with VirtualDub - audio and video out of sync. avz10 Capture, Record, Transfer 3 01-13-2013 06:25 PM
Audio-video out of sync, other problems yargellham Capture, Record, Transfer 7 11-20-2005 02:28 PM
Audio video sync errors 777sp2 Capture, Record, Transfer 9 11-18-2005 03:33 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 AM