Quantcast Uncompressed AVI (UYVY) crashing Adobe Premiere? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Edit Video, Audio

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
04-20-2016, 06:20 AM
jbd5010 jbd5010 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA Area
Posts: 180
Thanked 15 Times in 11 Posts
Hi guys,

I'm attempting to import AVI files from VHS captures containing PCM audio and uncompressed UYVY video into Adobe Premiere CC 2015. However, upon dragging the AVI file onto the timeline, Premiere throws a "This program has stopped working..." Windows error.

I'm running Windows 10 (this is a separate machine from my XP capture machine). Has anyone else experienced this issue? I've had good luck with Premiere and all other software on Windows 10 so far, but I suppose it could be an OS issue since uncompressed AVI appears to be supported and there are no codecs to worry about...

-- merged --

Follow up... I had the exact same issue on my computer at work running Windows 8.1 Pro.

-- merged --

Well, I converted the files to YUY2 in Virtualdub and Premiere successfully opens them. I don't know if colorspace was the issue or if Virtualdub was coincidentally correcting some other issue, but I can live with this workaround since it's uncompressed to uncompressed conversion.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
04-23-2016, 01:18 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,123
Thanked 1,977 Times in 1,705 Posts
Hmm... not sure here either.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
04-24-2016, 12:22 PM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
as a decoder for UYVY I take the Drastic

the msyuv.dll is incorrect in Windows 7

https://www.drastic.tv/images/legacy/ReadMe.txt

mikey lee Jones can be found on the Internet, even at Doom9
Reply With Quote
The following users thank Goldwingfahrer for this useful post: lordsmurf (04-24-2016)
  #4  
05-01-2016, 03:01 PM
jbd5010 jbd5010 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA Area
Posts: 180
Thanked 15 Times in 11 Posts
Meanwhile, on the Adobe forum... https://forums.adobe.com/message/8703679#8703679



I wasn't familiar with Drastic, I'll have to check it out.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
05-02-2016, 09:02 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,123
Thanked 1,977 Times in 1,705 Posts
The parroting of myths always annoys me. I simply could not resist replying there. It's been years since I logged into the Adobe forums, and the primary reason is because the BS in there was thick enough to cut with a fork.

- Capturing myths.
- DVD media myths.
- Restoration myths.

I always wonder who some of those people are, because they're certainly (hopefully?) not professionals.

As stated there, I recently had an issue with Premiere Cs4 creating bad Huffyuv files that MainConcept hated. I had to re-encode the Huffyuv to a new Huffyuv (not just mere stream copy), and that worked.

Adobe is just buggy. We all know it.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
05-02-2016, 09:15 AM
jbd5010 jbd5010 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA Area
Posts: 180
Thanked 15 Times in 11 Posts
Quote:
[From Adobe Forum] If you're using ATI MMC to capture AVI, don't. Use VirtualDub for that.
I can't get VirtualDub to "see" the S-Video (or composite, for that matter) inputs on my AIW 7500 VE (PCIe) card. It only allows me to select the RF tuner and channel... any ideas there?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
05-03-2016, 04:06 AM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
lordsmurf

Here's the link to Drastic
User Karl Lillevold

Mikey Lee Jones

update 2016_02_08

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...44#post1759244
Reply With Quote
  #8  
05-08-2016, 06:49 PM
jbd5010 jbd5010 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA Area
Posts: 180
Thanked 15 Times in 11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbd5010 View Post
I can't get VirtualDub to "see" the S-Video (or composite, for that matter) inputs on my AIW 7500 VE (PCIe) card. It only allows me to select the RF tuner and channel... any ideas there?
Soo.. PEBCAK. I was in the Device menu instead of Video menu.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adobe Premiere Version Validation sirbyron Edit Video, Audio 3 03-02-2015 08:19 PM
Is there an alternative to Adobe Premiere? rappy Edit Video, Audio 1 12-27-2011 12:31 PM
Help with Adobe Premiere and Huffyuv Files jrodefeld Edit Video, Audio 2 12-04-2011 01:50 PM
Wow, Adobe Premiere Pro CS4 support RMVB anllyy Encode, Convert for streaming 2 01-17-2010 11:05 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59 AM