Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Edit Video, Audio

LinkBack Thread Tools
06-04-2018, 01:08 PM
Free Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
Windows Movie Maker is useless good-for-nothing software, and should even make your list of possible workflows. No more than photographer should consider Paint a possible useful software.

iMovie is passable at best.

I've been using multi-track NLEs since at least 1999 (Premiere v5). I remember what a massive upgrade v6 was, whole new world (including MPEG plugins from both Ligos and Panasonic).
Is Windows Movie Maker even still a thing...I wanted to download it to try it, but I can't find it in Windows 10? What else do you recommend for someone new to vid editing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ehbowen View Post
I can't call myself an expert by any means, but on the projects I've put together I've been very happy with Corel VideoStudio 10.5 Ultimate. You will probably want to pay for the optional Blu-ray authoring upgrade (very reasonably priced). Some observations:
  • Save your work frequently. I have 16 GB RAM and several terabytes of storage space available, but if you get hot and heavy into a project without saving you run the risk of losing your work. It's not "crash every minute" by any means...but when it does lock up, it tends to be at the worst possible time.
  • When authoring a Blu-ray, you won't be able to do so directly from multiple projects. You WILL lock up. You will have to make note of your chapter points, render the output to MPEG-2, and then use the MPEG-2 files to author your Blu-ray, taking the time to edit your chapter points back in. Authoring from a single Blu-ray project is a 50/50 hit/miss; you won't lose your project work but you may need to re-do the authoring a few times. Authoring to DVD directly from projects works pretty well.