Quantcast Properly cropped video, what to encode to? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
12-09-2018, 12:53 AM
drzapp drzapp is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 54
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
I followed the guide pinned above, and it seems to work great- except I'm not sure what I should encode it as at the end- Right now I'm using the same codec used to capture it- Grass Valley lossless (I use that one because it plays well with Vegas, my fixer-upper program)

Or should I encode it to MPEG to put in DVD Architect (DVDA)? I was going with the GV, because I've read that DVDA will go ahead and re-encode some MPEG even if it was the right parameters, so if I encode from VirtualDub to MPEG, then DVDA may decide it doesn't like it and do another lossy encode.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
12-09-2018, 02:21 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,211
Thanked 1,350 Times in 1,192 Posts
Encoding depends on output needs.

But I think you're referring to VirtualDub. You must encode out to lossless AVI in VirtualDub, and then feed that video to an actual later encoder for the output needs. VirtualDub has no MPEG encoding option, not even VirtualDub2 does that.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
12-09-2018, 04:32 PM
drzapp drzapp is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 54
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Ahhh OK, I had thought Virtualdub had MPEG encoding. So I'll just keep using the GV lossless for everything except the final encode to DVD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
12-09-2018, 06:59 PM
drzapp drzapp is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 54
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
One more question- is it better to use fast re-compress, normal re-compress or full processing?

Edit- answered my own question, the mask only works on full processing mode
Reply With Quote
  #5  
12-09-2018, 08:03 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,211
Thanked 1,350 Times in 1,192 Posts
Fast recompress = disallows filters, disallows colorspace conversion
Normal recompress = disallows filters
Full processing mode = allows filters

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does cropped video force re-encode for DVD? GreenAcres Capture, Record, Transfer 4 07-25-2014 03:49 AM
How to encode a video without getting those macro blocks ? lordsmurf Encode, Convert for discs 0 12-20-2010 09:53 AM
Encode or re-encode, one progran as good as another? cyber-junkie Encode, Convert for discs 1 08-13-2010 05:05 PM
Acutal size with "record cropped video" ? jlietz Capture, Record, Transfer 3 03-03-2005 11:41 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 PM