Quantcast Burning digitized videos to 4.5 GB DVD? - Page 2 - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Edit Video, Audio

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #21  
04-16-2019, 06:17 PM
dpalomaki dpalomaki is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 783
Thanked 171 Times in 147 Posts
Quote:
...see if you are satisfied with the results.
This standard is driven by balancing cost, time, deadlines and expectations. All created work, whether written, video, performance, or restoration is infinitely refineable. If cost, time and deadlines are a consideration for a given project then meeting the client/customer/consumer expectations provides a threshold for declaring victory. Going beyond the expectations is an option if conditions permit, and may be worth doing for marketing and future business considerations, self-actualization, and building experience but it also carries an opportunity cost.

Capturing to a good lossless format allows one to go back and rework as needed, as standards/expectations change, as time permits. Capturing to a lossy format limits your future options.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank dpalomaki for this useful post: lordsmurf (04-17-2019)
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #22  
04-17-2019, 03:34 AM
Mazufa Mazufa is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Finland
Posts: 93
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpalomaki View Post
This standard is driven by balancing cost, time, deadlines and expectations. All created work, whether written, video, performance, or restoration is infinitely refineable. If cost, time and deadlines are a consideration for a given project then meeting the client/customer/consumer expectations provides a threshold for declaring victory. Going beyond the expectations is an option if conditions permit, and may be worth doing for marketing and future business considerations, self-actualization, and building experience but it also carries an opportunity cost.

Capturing to a good lossless format allows one to go back and rework as needed, as standards/expectations change, as time permits. Capturing to a lossy format limits your future options.
Of course I can capture those client videos using Huffyuv, for example. But I am transforming them into a DVD-compatible format with TMPGEnc Authoring Works 6.

Then the files will be stored on my computer and if the customer wants to improve, I can fix the quality of the video.

I need to find the right cable for my video camera for audio inputs. Then get started.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
04-17-2019, 05:57 AM
Mazufa Mazufa is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Finland
Posts: 93
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
What sort of audio output does the camera have?
I took pictures from my video camera. You can use them to help me find the right sound for cable searching

-- merged --

Apparently this is the right cable I need? This would get my camera connected to the Ati All-In-Wonder 7500 agp capture card.

Link in cable: https://www.ebay.com/itm/Genuine-Ori...0AAOSw5SpbqTCK

I still connect a precise picture of my camera cable to the connector.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg Sony DCR-TRV230E PAL (1).jpg (63.0 KB, 3 downloads)
File Type: jpg Sony DCR-TRV230E PAL (2).jpg (66.0 KB, 2 downloads)
File Type: jpg Sony DCR-TRV230E PAL (3).jpg (60.0 KB, 1 downloads)
File Type: jpg Sony DCR-TRV230E PAL (4).jpg (58.7 KB, 1 downloads)
File Type: jpg Sony DCR-TRV230E PAL (6).jpg (62.6 KB, 1 downloads)
File Type: jpg Sony DCR-TRV230E PAL (5).jpg (53.7 KB, 1 downloads)
File Type: jpg Tarkka kuva.jpg (70.5 KB, 2 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #24  
04-17-2019, 06:17 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,269
Thanked 1,370 Times in 1,205 Posts
The "AV out" is a special cable for audio+video, and you need that.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
04-17-2019, 06:19 AM
Mazufa Mazufa is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Finland
Posts: 93
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
The "AV out" is a special cable for audio+video, and you need that.
Yeah. I now understand that what kind of cable I need.

It's like that I needed:https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/AV-A-V-Cable-Cord-For-SONY-Handycam-MiniDV-HDD-VMC-15FS-VMC15FS/182343535766?hash=item2a74858c96:g:EowAAOSw8gVYBBz 0
Reply With Quote
  #26  
04-17-2019, 07:58 AM
colony colony is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 85
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
lordsmurf,

"Since you have the ATI AIW card, capture directly to 15mbit MPEG-2, using my settings (interlaced, etc) from the guide. Encode those down to MPEG to fit the DVD(s)."

As a beginner myself, am interested in your suggestion above for VHS movie recordings from TV. Is there an advantage to this over capturing with MMC directly down to DVD specs before encoding?
Either DVDWS2 or TAW would be good for the authoring in this case?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
04-17-2019, 09:13 AM
Mazufa Mazufa is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Finland
Posts: 93
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by colony View Post
lordsmurf,

"Since you have the ATI AIW card, capture directly to 15mbit MPEG-2, using my settings (interlaced, etc) from the guide. Encode those down to MPEG to fit the DVD(s)."

As a beginner myself, am interested in your suggestion above for VHS movie recordings from TV. Is there an advantage to this over capturing with MMC directly down to DVD specs before encoding?
Either DVDWS2 or TAW would be good for the authoring in this case?
Can you give me a link to the guide you mean?

My capture card is Ati All-In-Wonder 7500. This capture card is attached to the AGP bus on the computer's motherboard.

But obviously this too can use Ati MMC software, and capture video directly into MPEG-2 format.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
04-17-2019, 09:14 AM
dpalomaki dpalomaki is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 783
Thanked 171 Times in 147 Posts
The A/V cable you need for the TRV230E is likely similar to this (see the Camcorder manual pages 10 and 31 for pictures):
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3-5mm-Jac...AAAMXQ74JTRqnp
Note that it has a special 4-conductor 3.5mm phone jack at one end and 3 RCA connectors at the other end, two for audio and one for composite video.

The links you gave is for a different cable that also had s-video on it. Your TRV230E has a separate s-video jack on the body. (It also has an iLink (AKA: IEEE1394, firewire) connector, and a LANC connector that can be used to control the camcorder.)

In their infinite wisdom Sony use several different A/V cables with different camcorder models, so be sure to verify what you order is appropriate for your unit.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank dpalomaki for this useful post: sanlyn (04-17-2019)
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A tape that can't be digitized? (Dropped frames?) moxiecat Capture, Record, Transfer 22 12-06-2011 05:57 PM
Data DVD burning? lordsmurf Computers 0 10-26-2009 02:49 AM
Problems burning Pepeart Blank Media 17 08-25-2005 06:54 PM
DVD+R Burning issue - disc stops burning halfway through staypuftman2004 Copy DVDs, Duplicate, Replicate 3 07-23-2005 05:35 PM
DVD Burning Errors, Cyclic Redundancy Check and burning freezes rmehta2 Copy DVDs, Duplicate, Replicate 7 07-13-2005 12:34 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 AM