05-22-2018, 09:31 AM
Free Member

Hello everyone!

I've been digitizing our old home videos (PAL region) for maybe two years now. It turned out to be such an interesting hobby that I found myself buying more and more hardware to get the best quality possible of our old memories.

Out of 4 VHS players I own now, I'd prefer to use the apparently high end JVC HR-S9600, basically the latest of the JVC S-VHS line in Europe, but it comes with its own set of problems, which I'll describe here in hopes of finding a solution.

1. When enabling TBC/DNR, the image sometimes jumps up and down, especially on older tapes. I know this is a known problem, but I've never seen a recommended solution if one wants to keep the TBC activated for those special tapes.

2. Muffled audio output on older tapes. I can capture the same section of a certain tape 6 times and always get totally different audio output, but most of the time, it's really dull compared to a different VCR (which sadly introduces audio noise). I had the JVC in for a checkup but they couldn't find anything wrong with it. It also looks really clean on the inside, and I cleaned the heads with isopropol alcohol. The only thing that might need renewing is the grease at the bottom, but I'm not sure. Any guides to restore VCRs out there? Anyway, is this a common problem with JVC?

Anything I can do about these issues?

That's it for now, thanks.
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

05-22-2018, 03:03 PM
Free Member

it's probably a calibration problem( to do on a tape by tape basis)
Recently i have found out that my jvc can play hifi perfectly well (with no picture jumps, drops...). All i did was to put a s-vhs inside and press record. Doing so triggered the auto calibration checks.
My gut feeling says to me it's all about tape tension in there and old tapes don't help either (become loose with time and sticky somewhat)

What you can try is go to the end of your tape and press record for a brief moment so it can calibrate finelly