11-25-2019, 12:10 AM
Free Member

Hello all,

I'm coming to you for help to see what I might be able to do with part of a tape from 1985 I've been working on. I'm not sure if it's even possible to get much out of this, but I've seen some seriously impressive restoration work on this forum so I wanted to give it a shot. I'm also pretty new to this whole process and I'd like to learn.

First, I should list my setup:
Panasonic AG-7650P -> S-Video + XLR -> Diamond VC500 -> Avisynth/VirtualDub

Here's a sample a little over 1 minute in duration in Lagarith format:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1qg...67hfe3TZypnlcC

I'm also attaching an x264-encoded sample to this post in case anyone just wants to take a cursory look at this without needing to download a 700MB file.

The only thing I've done to this is cuts to include the segments best illustrating the problems I'm going to show in this post - this is otherwise raw with no cropping, colorspace conversion, etc. If I've done something I shouldn't have, let me know.

On to the problems I see with this video:

The segment I'm posting here was filmed indoors, and this camera performed very poorly in low light, like a lot of handheld cameras in the 80s. All things considered, I think the image quality is not that bad; fairly stable, few dropouts/artifacts, and there's a good amount of detail. The problems are largely with color. I've been able to make some decent progress fighting heavy shadows with ContrastMask, here are some examples with those corrections plus deinterlacing and denoising with QTGMC:

From the second sample, you can see another problem with the low-light performance, which is that almost no color information was captured in many shots. The man in the hat looks almost as if he's been filmed in grayscale.

The man next to him in the costume has a bright red shirt on, but it's hard to even make this out. Skin tones are basically non-existent: