Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Restore, Filter, Improve Quality

LinkBack Thread Tools
12-19-2019, 04:38 PM
Unconfirmed User

Someone gave me a program that he recorded off satellite with his DVHS deck, which he subsequently transferred via he thinks a Canopus box and Final Cut Pro to the DVCPro codec many years ago.

I have no experience with how a DVHS deck works or what satellite transmissions are like. MediaInfo shows it as interlaced bottom field first, but when looking at the main body of the program it looks only telecined. Could a DVHS deck record satellite progressive frames, or does it also interlace the signal?

Erich

Attached Files
File Type: mov 43-HappyH-B_clip.mov (8.80 MB, 7 downloads)
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

12-19-2019, 07:15 PM
Free Member

Classic 3:2 pulldown aka telecine is the method of turning film frames into an interlaced TV signal.

MediaInfo can't know when an interlaced stream actually contains "hard pulldown". Only "soft pulldown" using flags could be detected this way.

You can still reverse hard pulldown rather than using a deinterlacer.

Note: I haven't viewed the sample.
12-19-2019, 11:13 PM
Premium Member

Thanked 1,308 Times in 982 Posts
Thanks for the sample.