04-18-2020, 08:34 AM
Free Member

Hello guys,

I was reading the master thread for VCRs. Newbie here...
Why JVC HR-S9500 is not recommended?
Where I live I can buy cheap PAL unit, but I'm curious why? I see TBC is available on that unit?
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

04-18-2020, 11:08 AM
Free Member

That model has been discussed on this forum over the years.

I think three things make it not a "recommended".

1. Older "dynamic drum" model. the Video head has a mechanical tilt mechanism driven by plastic gears which seizes up and breaks with age. It then becomes unrepairable because neither the plastic gears, not the whole video head assembly can be sourced anymore.

2. It does have TBC, but does not have control over its "video filters". Later models by comparison gave great control over the filters, as in levels or degrees of filter.. versus simply on/off.

3. Fewer people who tried that unit, continued to use that unit when it was more widely available. It just wasn't "recommended" that often by the people who had actually had a chance to use one.

[note: This doesn't mean it was a "bad" unit. Simply that when held up against the other models that were available it was not the "preferred" model. In today's context where you have far fewer choices that could certainly change, and having a TBC versus no TBC is a pretty persuasive feature these days. ]

These are all over 25 years old now, so the chances of finding one in good condition which did not need a lot of maintenance is very small.