Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Restore, Filter, Improve Quality

LinkBack Thread Tools
06-24-2020, 06:37 AM
Free Member

My workflow is as follows:

JVC SR V10U -> TBC1000 -> Tevion USB (TI chip) via S-video with RCA connected to mini port using Windows 10. Captured using VirtualDub with 0 dropped frames, 0 inserted, 0 jitter, etc. It actually works very well for me.

I have the JVC in Edit mode with TBC on.

The video looks pretty good to me, but wanted to know what others thought would be best filters on this should be. I'm still learning many of the filters and working on getting the best I can. Goal would be to archive restored avi video and upload mp4 streaming to vimeo and youtube to share with friends and family.

Thank you for any help you can offer.

Attached Files
File Type: avi 06 - 1990-10-12 marching band.avi (97.55 MB, 40 downloads)
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

06-24-2020, 08:02 AM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,461 Times in 2,093 Posts
I rarely suggest using EDIT mode on JVC VCRs. That turns off all NR in the deck, leaving chroma noise, excess grain, and other issues. I believe it even affects the DOC effectiveness.

Perhaps if your tapes are pristine commecial releases?
Maybe SP recordings made in a (then) high-end quality camcorders?

Your samples isn't that. Try recapture with AUTO/NORM settings.

Your biggest problem right now is chroma noise, use the VirtualDub CCD filter. The values are hot/overexposed, but it was mostly shot that way. An analog proc amp would have helped, probably, maybe. Depends on how bad the tape error is baked in.

Audio is crackly, like the tracking wasn't 100%.

Grain is tolerable, give false impression of sharpness. JVC's auto/norm Picture Mode will remove it, but the same false grain can be added back in VirtualDub (and better).

Was that the whole band, or just an on-field ensemble?

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.