10-14-2020, 06:45 AM
Free Member

Hi all

Long time follower, first time poster. I have learnt a lot from the editing wizards on here but I'd would kindly like some advice in perfecting my Avisynth script.

a. What I'm doing - Digitalising VHS tapes that had very limited release.

b. What I want to achieve - To restore those films in digital format in the highest quality possible whilst retaining as much detail as possible. These will be viewed on a computer.

c. My workflow - Sony HR-S5700AM SVHS Player >>SVIDEO>> Panasonic DMR-ES10 >>SVIDEO>> Diamond VC500 >> VirtualDub >> Lossless Avi (HuffYUV) >> Avisynth+ >> ffMpeg (x264)

d. What I'd like from DigitalFAQ Guru's - Please rejig my script and offer other filters etc to achieve my desired outcome.

The script I'm using is as follows.(I'm new to the Avisynth game so I appreciate it may be bad).
Code:
SetFilterMTMode("QTGMC", 2)
FFmpegSource2("sample.avi", atrack=1)
ConverttoYV12()
AssumeTFF()
QTGMC(Preset="Slower", Edithreads=15)
Crop(8, 0, -8, -8)
Sharpen(0.5)
TemporalDegrain2(2)
RemoveGrain(2)
Spline64Resize(720,540)
ColorYUV(gain_y=35, off_y=-35, cont_u=30, cont_v=120)
Normalize(1.00)
Trim(1150,196090)
Prefetch(threads=15)
Please see attached Raw file and Edited file.

Thank you greatly for any advice.

Attached Files
File Type: mkv Sample - Raw 1.mkv (95.76 MB, 37 downloads)
File Type: avi Sample - Raw 2.avi (90.04 MB, 8 downloads)
File Type: mkv Sample - Edited.mkv (20.70 MB, 39 downloads)
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

10-19-2020, 06:24 AM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,448 Times in 2,080 Posts
The video isn't bad. But it does need work.

Right now, "edited" is a tad dark, halo from bad sharpening, and too smooth/plastic (no grain, no reality, more like a toon that real life). It's mostly a matter of easing back on the filters. Novice users tend to be heavy handed.

This isn't helping:
Code:
Sharpen(0.5)
There are other/better to sharpen. For example, LSFmod at a low value.