Quantcast How can i remove black bar from side of mpg?? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
11-24-2007, 05:09 PM
Konfusion Konfusion is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 183
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
i got a bunch of episodes on dvd of love boat and the episodes i got were kinda retarded burned and some weird black line on the side. how can i remove this black bar on the right. so it doenst look funny on my tv.
its all mpg but im trying to remake the disc since
1 the person that sent me the episodes is retarded and cant make menus for crap and
2 doesnt know how to burn.

so since i had to extract the video from the dvd anyways i might as well fix it some what.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
11-24-2007, 08:00 PM
manthing manthing is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 327
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
the only way i know is to use some sort of mpeg "editor"
like tmpgenc xpress

load up the mpeg
then in one of the options, you can resize, "black-out", center it etc

in your case, my guess is you will have to "trim" the RHS black border
and possibly "black-out" the bottom so as to hide the fuzzy lines

someone like LS can give a more detailed explanation
and perhaps recommend a better product than tmpgenc

but let me warn you now
this is a very long process
a 45 minute show might take several hours to re-do
depends on the hardware you have

example, i have dual core 2GHz
to re-do a 45 minute show will take about 2+ hours

good luck
Reply With Quote
  #3  
11-24-2007, 10:04 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,516
Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,227 Posts
There's nothing weird about that. It's unused overscan from a typical broadcast use of the screen space. The bottom has VHS head noise. All of that should fall into the television overscan, something you won't see on tv. You'll just lose quality trying to remove it, and it's unnecessary. If the black bar is visible on screen, just do it.

If you insist on fixing it, do this (and EXACTLY this, don't alter the numbers shown):

konfusion-crop3.jpg

You must be logged in to view this content; either login or register for the forum. The attached screen shots, before/after images, photos and graphics are created/posted for the benefit of site members. And you are invited to join our digital media community.


konfusion-crop2.jpg

I suggest encoding to 352x480 with 5000k CBR. Put 5-6 episodes per disc. More TMPGenc Plus settings:
- HIGH motion quality. MPEG-2 MP@ML, VBV 224
- Interlaced encode mode, top field interlace on the source (second tab, ADVANCED, shown in image above), 4:3 29.97fps, 9-bit DC.
- On Quantize tab, put default matrix, uncheck all boxes that can be unchecked.
- GOP tab should be closed GOP, 1-5-2 / 1-18 (default), detect scene, last one unchecked.

Only use TMPGEnc Plus 2.5, not anything else, not another version.



- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
11-24-2007, 10:05 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,516
Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,227 Posts
Is that PAL? If so, 352x576. Do not convert to NTSC. That will really mess up quality.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
11-24-2007, 11:53 PM
cp32 cp32 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 255
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Buddah smurf
Reply With Quote
  #6  
11-25-2007, 03:35 AM
Konfusion Konfusion is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 183
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
cool thanks. well this ep is pal some are ntsc.. what do i do if i have a bunch of mixed ntsc and pal vobs/mpgs??

so its normal to have just 1 big black bar on the right and not on the left?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
11-25-2007, 03:43 AM
Konfusion Konfusion is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 183
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
also where is the option of output method 352x576? all i see is 720x576
Reply With Quote
  #8  
11-25-2007, 10:26 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,516
Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,227 Posts
Make two sets as best you can. leave PAL with PAL, NTSC with NTSC. Out of order a little bit? So what. Quality is more important.

You have to click UNLOCK

konfusion-crop4.gif



- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
11-26-2007, 04:27 PM
Krichton Krichton is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , , .
Posts: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
These are not visible on any tv so why worry about them?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
11-26-2007, 05:59 PM
Konfusion Konfusion is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 183
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
lol. ya they are on all tvs i have. im not talking about a small black bar on both sides thats not visable. i know what those are. but this is only on 1 side and is double sized. if it was half sized on both sides it wouldnt be visable at all. but this just makes un uneven video with a black bar sticking out on the right side of the tv. i figured it out though so its all good.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
11-26-2007, 07:25 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,516
Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,227 Posts
If you followed my method, then the final video should be perfectly fine. No loss in quality, and one black bar now gone. It was a bad broadcast, had nothing to do with whoever recorded the set. You get these a lot on homegrown locals (not networks).


- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
11-26-2007, 08:48 PM
Konfusion Konfusion is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 183
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
ya worked out fine thanks. came across another episode that has constant freezes. like it plays for a second then freezes for a second. goes throughout the entire episode. is there a way to re encode it so it plays with out pausing every 2 seconds.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
11-27-2007, 05:04 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,516
Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,227 Posts
Open it in VirtualDub (MPEG2 or MOD version, that reads MPEG files). Does it show all the frames there? If so, the encode was botched, and it can be done. If it freezes in VirtualDub, no, frames are missing are repeated in the capture.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remove DMR lock & convert cnickle1 Encode, Convert for discs 5 03-22-2009 01:11 PM
How to Remove Audio Static/Buzz and Hiss lordsmurf Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 2 01-12-2008 11:15 AM
Remove text from pic, but leave background? manthing Photo Processing, Scanning & Printing 2 03-27-2006 12:47 AM
Why Black & White capture ? Sujit Capture, Record, Transfer 4 05-23-2005 08:27 AM
Black bars jrnyhead Encode, Convert for discs 3 04-07-2004 12:26 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 AM